Preparation


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I have major travelling plans this summer, and it's only starting to sink in now that it's really happening. I'm still so immersed in my everyday life and my work, but of course, I'm starting to prepare...

vaccinations: $198
dentist appointment: $279 (it's been a few years, and don't want to worry about that when I'm there).
water filter: $85

And I've hardly started. I'm glad I have a job to come back to in the fall!

I had been feeling a little worried that there were no other volunteers signed up yet in the small town (Ciudad Quesada, Costa Rica) where I am going. I'm still trying to understand the implications of that, and had been feeling a little nervous about the trip as a result. It could make things lonely, but it could force me to overcome my beginner level Spanish and become part of the culture around me. That wouldn't be a bad thing.

I did receive notice today about a host family. It made me feel good, and I trust that it will work out well, even though I don't know much about the family yet, other than the names and ages. More about that later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.5kb