Blues, Cowboy hats and -14


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
February 18th 2009
Published: February 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I managed to get a ticket to that concert - well worth the wait too.
Anyway, since my last bog I've been to a few places. I arrived in Edmonton the weekend before last where I spent 5 nights. The Saturday night I arrived I managed to catch up with a couple of girls I met on my contiki tour which was great. Before that my room-mate and I went to a Blues bar where we saw a band from Chicago-really, really good. So Cowboy hats. My friends where at this saloon, so I headed there only to get a bit of a shock when I realised I was almost the only guy in there without one on. Fun though.
The following morning I headed over to Safeway to buy some groceries. By far the coldest I've ever been! It was a nice blue sky out so stupid me didn't wear my beanie; never again! I thought my ears were going to fall off- there were almost tears!
Almost!
I caught the greyhound bus down to Calgary Thursday morning- god you get some weird people on there. At least I didn't get beheaded and disembowled right :-)
I ended up staying with Laura's (another girl I met on contiki) parents which was great as I was able to save a bit of money. Canada's one expensive place!
On Saturday they took me snowshoeing- you basically put over-sized shoes (or mini-ski's) on and trek through the snow. We walked over a frozen lake which was pretty cool. It was good as you can stop when you want and take photo's so I got a few good one's
(I posted some on facebook if anyone's interested).
That night I flew over to Halifax where I'm currently staying with Laura and her Boyfriend. On Sunday we went out for breakfast before checking out the Art Gallery which wasn't bad (on the way I took a tumble- think that brings my slip 'n' slide tally to 3- watch this space:-)
After that we went on a tour of the local brewery which was fun. That night we went to a local concert which was also pretty good. Not surprisingly I slept pretty well that night.
Today I'm going to check out a fort, old burying ground, church and a couple more places.

Well I hope everyone's well and i'll be in touch.

Until then,

Daniel xo



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb