Last day in Edmonton


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
November 9th 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No more shopping please
Chillaxin' in Edmonton
Easy going day.

I took it pretty easy today since I have vowed not to do any shopping of any sort other than grocery shopping. Let's see how long this lasts. haha

While making my breakfast of Japanese instant noodles (just trying to finish up my stash of food before leaving catching the train tomorrow) I met a Japanese girl and Canadian guy making some "sandwich maker bundles". Some contained red bean, some corn, some tuna and cheese. You get the idea. They had well over a couple of dozen of them made up! They were kind enough to share with me but I didn't want to appear too greedy and only helped myself to one. Not bad!

Since my hair was still wet I decided to hang out in the TV room to watch some TV like Ellen, Martha and the news. I did a little bit of multi-tasking at the same time and had my music player charging and I was doing some backstitching as well. Okay, so I all I had to do to charge up my music player was to plug it in, but it just makes it seem like I was doing so many things at once. haha

There were a few sketchy but harmless people at the hostel. It appears to me that there are a lot of people from other parts of Canada that are currently staying at the hostel while they are working in Edmonton. Hmm, wouldn't it be cheaper, nicer and you'd have more privacy if they found an apartment to stay in instead?? Or perhaps they like the pool table that they have at the hostel. haha Hmm, maybe they get a good weekly rate or something.

Anyhoo, I thought that I should get outside for some fresh air so I bundled up and decided to walk around the neighbourhood a bit. I ended up at Chapters to warm up and stayed there for a while just browsing the shelves and other stuff that was on sale. I’m happy to report that I did not spend a cent at Chapters. I did however spend a bit of money at Safeway stocking up on stuff for tomorrow's train journey.

Oh yes, yesterday at the Mall I bought some yarn to do some knitting on the train. I was so tempted to start my knitting project but was afraid that I'd finish it before even getting on the train tomorrow!

When I got back from my jaunt around the neighbourhood I bumped into one of the Australian blokes that I had met at the Winnipeg hostel. Since I last saw him he took the bus to Banff and Calgary and was now about to make his way to Jasper to check it out.

In the evening a couple of my roommates and the guy from Australia (have you figured out yet that I don't recall his name. lol) hung out in the TV room watching some not so interesting TV. Well, Spouse Swap was a bit interesting since one of the mom's was a Christian fanatic. You had to see it. It was just unbelievable how "scared" she was of "new age" thinking like astrology and psychics etc. and wouldn't give anybody the light of day if you wanted to talk to her about stuff like that. Yet she saw no problem in pushing her thoughts of God onto anybody and everybody that'd listen. To top it off she was quite loud, rude and in my opinion quite crazy!!!

So my last night in Edmonton wasn't all that exciting. Mind you we did get quite a few laughs outta watching TV. I guess we all couldn't help but make a few comments or two or more...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.2176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb