Winding down in Banff


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff » Sunshine
May 17th 2005
Published: May 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Night SkiingNight SkiingNight Skiing

The girls after night skiing at Sunshine. With $2 burgers and drinks it's no wonder we have big smiles on our faces.
This is my first Travel Blog page so please excuses spelling mistakes, grammar mistakes and any other kind of mistake that will appear. This is my third time righting this little blog, there are a number of excuses one being this computer I'm on has really high virus protection on it and the other being that some times I can just be an idiot.

So basically my last two attempts at a journal covered the highlights and lowlights of Banff. They where a bit more detailed than this one is going to be.

I have about 10 days left in Banff and only 6 more days at work so I'm really starting to look forward to traveling with Kate Lacey. But the purpose of this Journal was to talk out the last 7 long but great months in Banff. So here there the highlights and lowlights in summary.

HIGHLIGHTS:
*Crazy times at the HI Hostel when I first arrived in Banff way back in October'04 - I’ve never been at a place where so many people where looking for a job and a place to stay.
*My fantastic flat mates Dave, Kate and Kandy.
*Free snowboarding at Sunshine
Me and NatMe and NatMe and Nat

Me dressed up as Kandy at her birthday and Nutrisoush Naty-Lou
and hiking for freshies of wawa (my first hike out of bounds)
*Parties - 80's party, Flat warming, New Years, Pink and green, Ozzy Day, Pirate party, Kandy's birthday and lots lots more.......
*Sunday night flip cup and random nights at Hoodoos
*Sushi sushi sushi at the sushi train and the fact that they would start making what we wanted as soon as we walked in the door.
*Trips to other mountains and still skiing for free - Lake Louise, Ferine, and Red Mountain.
*Trips to Calgary for Ice Hockey games and the Killers concert.
*MOST IMPORTANT are the great people I've meet and all the awesome friends I've made.

Lowlights:
*Leaving the contents of my stomach at four locations on the way home from Ferine.
*-30 Degrees and your eyelashes and nose hairs freezing.
*Living in a basement flat with no windows and leaving for work in the dark and coming home in the dark.
*Getting paid $7.25/hour.

Now I am trying to keep this short so I won't even get into all the funny and stupid stories that have come out of this season. But if you are truly interested sit me down with a beer
Did I Mention the great SceneryDid I Mention the great SceneryDid I Mention the great Scenery

This is Mel on her way to the gym. I think she got a bit side tracked?
next time I see you and I tell you everything.

I have learnt so much from everyone here. For example don't listen to Dave and Linds when they tell you that something is a good idea! (See photo)

Sending out a big thank you to every one I've meet here. You have all made Banff very memorable. To mates back home hope you enjoy this travel page, it's going to take you to Jasper, Alaska, whistler, Vancouver, Calgary and lots more places.

Take care and have fun.
Love
Jo



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

80's Party80's Party
80's Party

This is a pic of the danc floor at the 80's party. Crazy people and Great music + terrible clothes = a great night.
Extreme!Extreme!
Extreme!

Kandy and Kate in Delerium Dive at Sunshine. You go girls!
Who's friends are these?Who's friends are these?
Who's friends are these?

Dave, Ben, Lace, Jo Jo and Mac giving their sweetest smiles.
Artistic Mountain ShotArtistic Mountain Shot
Artistic Mountain Shot

Cascade mountian looking beautiful in the morning. I think we are on the way to the bus stop for work.
Jo and train and groundJo and train and ground
Jo and train and ground

So the next time Dave and Lindsy say "yeh Jo go for it, you can climb that slipery ice sculpture" I'm going to say NO!


23rd May 2005

Wadda world
Wadda wonderful world out there and you have shared it with us so vibrantly, coloufully and expicitly......!! Thanks... enjoy the rest of the trip... keep up the stories and pics... they're great. Barb - Barb

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0918s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb