Last time skiing...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff » Sunshine
April 15th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Past Saturday was really really really the last time skiing in the Rockies for now.. Actually I already assumed the Sunday before would be the last time, but eventually Elise and Robert (a friend of Mat visiting from Germany) convinced me to come anyway. Part of the attraction of this extra day skiing is that this time I would have to pay considerably less than normal, since I would pay less for the ticket and would not need rentals. This meant that instead of about $90 the trip would only cost me about $40, a lot better!

So early in the morning we drove off with the four of us (Elise, Mat, Robert and me) towards Banff. I must admit that it gets harder every time to get up so early for the skiing (about 6.30), probably because it’s not as special and exciting anymore as the first times. However, as soon as we arrived there I was happy to be at Sunshine again. In the morning the snow was to bumpy, but it got better in the afternoon fortunately. For me the day was pretty good, we did some black runs again which even seemed to be a bit easier than the last time 😉. The only pity was that Elise’s boots hurt so much that she had to stop skiing after lunch.

At the end of the afternoon we met up with Elise again and had a happy-hour-beer in the bar down at the mountain. Although we all were pretty tired afterwards our day was not over yet, Robert had offered to take us out for dinner since he would be leaving the next day. So after a shower and a long long drive across Calgary (come on, are we Europeans not allowed to have some nice dinner or so..) we finally found a really nice Italian restaurant. It was so good to go out for some really good food once again, I mean, the food courts of which we have hundreds here in Canada are okay, but not comparable at all to a good restaurant.. So we had a really nice evening with a wonderful meal and some wine and did not leave before the employees in the restaurant started give some subtle hints they’d like to go home too..

The next morning, Mat and Robert had to leave at 9 am again to make sure Robert would catch his flight home to Munich.. I however was very glad I could stay a bit longer in my warm bed J..


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb