Like Winning the Lottery


Advertisement
Middle East
October 13th 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post


Cheesecake For BreakfastCheesecake For BreakfastCheesecake For Breakfast

Ron taught me the importance of eating Cheesecake for breakfast. The most important meal of the day!
Finding my family in Israel was like winning the lottery. I have some of the cutest cousins on this planet!

Shay is the oldest.
Uval is the sandwich child.
Neer is the newborn.

The oldest, Shay, seven years old, is a great older brother, and lets Uval win at games for his self-esteem (actually, he let's him win because his dad asks him to, and Uval cries if he doesn't win). Shay is filled with compassion and asked me where I learned English. I told him (in Hebrew) the same place he learned Hebrew. He laughed at the obviousness of the response and said that he wants to learn English so he can communicate better with me. I was so moved, and also so annoyed that I let the language, once fluent to me, slip so far from my brain. But I understand the important words. Like, "tickle me!!" "Do you want to play football?"
Knowing only that puts me in Shay and Uval's good graces.

There is a young girl from across the hall that plays with Shay all the time. She walked up to me and said (In Hebrew) "I am learning English in school."
"Oooooh,"
My little cousin - NeerMy little cousin - NeerMy little cousin - Neer

He is cute... so he must be related! Just almost 2 months old.
I respond, "What have you learned?"
(In English) "Be quiet."
It was so funny.

Moving up in the family tree, I spent a lot of time with Merav and Ron, the Mom and Dad to the cute kids. They are two cool parents, and are so laid back and fun. Merav can take one look at her kids and melt as she says how they are so delicious. No way is she completely biased, as I completely agree with her. She is a dedicated Mom and it is lovely to watch her with them; playing with them and helping with the homework. Ron taught me to importance of the Cheescake Diet: and now I understand the brilliance of eating cheesecake for breakfast. We both recommend it.

(More on this fun family soon...)



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Picking up my Cousin from KindergardenPicking up my Cousin from Kindergarden
Picking up my Cousin from Kindergarden

This is an absolute Cutie! Picking up Uval, and putting him on my shoulders is one of the highlights of any of my day.
Playing with ShayPlaying with Shay
Playing with Shay

I love this boy!
So much fun in this household!So much fun in this household!
So much fun in this household!

Here is Shay in the front.
Ilana and Son and GrandsonIlana and Son and Grandson
Ilana and Son and Grandson

Ilana (Happy Grandmother), Ron, and Neer.
Uval on my shouldersUval on my shoulders
Uval on my shoulders

He likes the height! I hope that I get to see him soon... Before he gets too big to throw up on my shoulders.
Uval on top and Shay in frontUval on top and Shay in front
Uval on top and Shay in front

Look at these smiles.
Little UvalLittle Uval
Little Uval

He loves special attention... and I love giving it!
Uncle PeretzUncle Peretz
Uncle Peretz

How do I know that Peretz and my grandfather are related? Oh... Just a hunch.
Working DadWorking Dad
Working Dad

How many father's do you know that can multi-task? This one can. He is such a great dad and bread-winner!
Cheesecake DietCheesecake Diet
Cheesecake Diet

Cheesecake is cut and ready to serve. YUMMY! This is my new recipe, however I don't think they sell this cheese in America.
The SecretThe Secret
The Secret

Reading the Secret in Hebrew! How awesome!
The Secret BookThe Secret Book
The Secret Book

Ha-Sod is what that spells in hebrew.
Where Eliseo the prophet slept...Where Eliseo the prophet slept...
Where Eliseo the prophet slept...

In this small cave that is now covered by a church - Stella Maris
Mangoon Creeper - for my fatherMangoon Creeper - for my father
Mangoon Creeper - for my father

My dad says this is a variety of Mangoon Creeper. What color!!!!!!!!!!! Fine plant. Loves heat and needs little water after establishment.
Oil paintingOil painting
Oil painting

In Haifa
Nap timeNap time
Nap time

After all this excitement, it is time to take a nap.


Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb