Camels Everywhere!


Advertisement
Yemen's flag
Middle East » Yemen
November 17th 2005
Published: November 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I'm going to take the time to write this again after the first one didn't work out....

Sorry about the infrequency of the 1st few blog entries, as they have had me running around ragged since I got here on Tuesday evening!!

I have arrived here in Yemen, and am pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facilities here. My trailer has hot running water, satellite TV, a mini-fridge and a nicely made bed all for me just steps away from the Mess Hall where we all eat 3 square meals a day. The CPF also has tennis courts, squash courts, hockey rink and a basketball court! Can you believe it?

Here's the catch... my days start at 6am. I will never complain about having to wake up for a 7:30am anymore. After waking up at 4am to take a shower, fall asleep again, and generally try to get myself going in the morning, I will be so happy to come back home and wake up at 6pm or 6:30 and get myself to the Calgary office. Yawnnn. After dinner at 6pm, I'm too pooped to do anything and am knocked out by 9pm so I can be somewhat conscious for the next day.

I have enjoyed the early evenings however, as last night we went to a contractor's camp, Bin Malik, to eat a traditional Yemeni meal, complete with Lamb, Goat, and eating with your hands. Brings me back to my Filipino roots. Yemeni people tend to eat super fast, finish in 20 minutes, and then up and leave. I did eat a little goat, which for those of you who ask, does not taste like chicken, but like fatty beef. They also dip the meat in Yemeni Honey, which is supposed to be a hot commodity, like $100 US a kilo because the honey is from some bee pollenation from a very rare flower, then monkeys eat the bees, and poop it out... just kidding. The flower thing and expensive honey is true. Tastes good! I had to stop at eating lamb though, as baby animals just don't appeal to me.

After that, I stopped by one of the expat clubs (the Wadi Club) to down a pint before bed. Do I ever regret that! Let's just say the beer wasn't up to standards, and I had a hard time drinking it. Between you and me it tasted very.. weird...

Yesterday workwise, I spent the day at a drilling rig (at Hemiar 27) and a service rig (at Haru 10) and met some very interesting characters! One particular drilling engineer who was super kind and helpful to teach me stuff about the rig, scratched his unmentionables like non stop for the 2 hours I was there. He also was one of them expats who lives probably a complete bachelor's life in Thailand. Make your own assumptions about his lifestyle. When the drillers heard that some girl was coming on the rig, they sent out a scout to his trailer, "Hey dude! There's a girl coming! I think she's from Thailand!!" He must have been unpleasantly surprised.

Anyways, my day continues, and I'm gonna get back in my big, big, big coveralls to go out to see more wells. Stay tuned everyone!



Advertisement



17th November 2005

You're crazy
Free lamb and you didn't indulge?!?! Baby animals are the best tasting things ever! Tastes so good when it hits your lips. I hope you don't decline when they offer you baby camel. Mmmm.... Those humps.. those little camel humps... check it out.
17th November 2005

wowww
gosh i have to read ur first email....i thought its some kinda chain letter...what an exciting time you are having...pogi ba ang mga guys???
18th November 2005

AH!
Charishe! Mwahaha! Well, first for you and everyone, it's "mutton" when you eat goat, not goat! Freaking Calgarians, learn your foods dammit! I thought there were supposed to be goats all over this place. And don't worry! You can do it - you'll have a sweet time, just give yourself a little bit due to jetlag (it's still pretty early) and keep your spirits up, and holy, it could be harsh good.
20th November 2005

they actually have coveralls in your size? :o)

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb