I got married in Yemen !!!!!


Advertisement
Yemen's flag
Middle East » Yemen
July 16th 2007
Published: July 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes, it happened yesterday. A full celebration, the girls putting on some make up on me, fixing my hair, bringing me some tea during the whole preparation, dressing me up in pink, even got the youyou part.
I did marry in pink, don't ask me why.
It was intense, the little girls wanting to be close to the bride, "aaroussa", because she is special and the queen of the day, I was lucky to have some girls dancing for me too, in the yemeni style.

The men were upstairs chilling and chewing Qat in the meantime.
Yes, men and woman do not share the celebration together. They shoot guns, they dance with their dagger holding up in the sky, and the woman dance, and ... chew Qat too.

I got married in Yemen, but I didn't have a groom.

It was a fun day, the girls Sabah, Bilkis, Amel, Saloua, Syria and Russia, the aunts and even the grandmother enjoyed putting on me the dress of one of the girls, 15 who got engaged a couple of months ago to her cousin Ramdan, just to see how it looked like on me.
Then, it all got out of hand, I was drawn into that magic scented of myra circle, where they started putting on some make up, drawing the lines around my eyes, making my lips looking a lot wider and fuller, tying my hair in a bun, getting the goldy crown, and pinning the pink scarf on top of my skull.
I felt like their doll for a moment, and I loved seeing them all happy about playing barbie with me.
The result was a bit stunning for me as I've never put so much make up on my face before, and never drawn on my eyebrows ever before, but the joy on their face was all worth it.
Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb