Souk Al-Minh


Advertisement
Yemen's flag
Middle East » Yemen » Sana'a
April 28th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ear plugs work a charm slept like a log last night had a big breaky and wandered into the old town, taking alleyways randomly and just checking out the lives of the inhabitants. After a while I blundered into the Souk but this wasnt like the other day the shops spiralled out in every direction it was also market day so the streets were a buzz with people. Unlike the Khan al-Kalili in Cairo and the Covered Souk in Istanbul the number of tourists I encountered could be counted on one hand. Also there were no caps or tee-shirts on sale anywhere.

I wandered for about 2 or 3 hours around the souk and the streets surrounding it finally wandering into a square that had a famous Hamman or Turkish Bathhouse, one of the locals invited me in for a peak, it wasnt quite what I expect. There were no fat men with big mustashes laying around in towels smoking sheesha pipes, it was mainly people in bordies just having a wash, strange that.

The bath house its self was very old, a young lad gave me a quick tour, it consisted of three low roofed rooms one of
Old CityOld CityOld City

Yemeni Gate
which had divans the others were for showering and washing, there was no big bath either. I didnt think it appropriate to take any snaps.

It took me another half hour or so to find my way back to the hotel I rang Ruthy along the way, it was really good to hear her voice even if a five minute call bankrupted me ;-), then found a cheap internet place (obvious is it not) and spent three hours in there before getting some street food on the way back to the hotel. Sana is remarkably beautiful at night, as most buildings have stained glass windows of many colours.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Old CityOld City
Old City

On the edge of the Souk


Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb