Swimming in the Arabian Sea


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Swimming in the Arabian Sea

Good Morning World! I think I am going to take a dip in the sea today. I head off to the Palace and walk onto the beach where I joined a few hundred other triathletes who had the same idea as I did. As swimmers were getting out, they were talking of how happy they were that it is wetsuit legal. Really? We are in the UAE and the temperature today: 108. Freezing! Couldn’t believe how cold it was and then reality hit me. I left home without my wetsuit. Oh my. Well this will be a first.

I met a group of guys from Dubai (originally from UK). I haven’t laughed so much since I have been here. They were great – helped

me with my bike, we had lunch and went to drop off our goods at transitions. It was a good way for me to spend the afternoon. The one thing I notice and I have always noticed when I travel is that everywhere but America, all the athletes are fun and friendly. Everybody takes pride in whatever distance they are doing. No one judges you for the distance you like or prefer. Everyone is an athlete here regardless of whether you are doing a sprint or short, long distance or relay. You have to train and work hard at whatever distance you do. It is a great feeling to be around people like that.

It makes me sad that there aren’t more athletes back home that were like that. It is definitely a reason why I want to race less and less. Maybe more people would be less intimidated to try triathlons if the people around were nicer. Example: someone with a flat on the roadside – cyclist will stop and help, whereas a triathlete will more than likely just pass you by. I see this time after time happen. And the big question is – what does being mean get you?

Focus - that is what I need to do is focus on tomorrow. The morning started off cold, but by 3:30 - right about the time I will be finishing the temperature got to 108. Mother Nature also gave us some good wind too. After our drop-offs, I retreated to my new hotel that is closer to the race start and have stayed out of the heat so I don't get dehydrated. I have showered, ordered my pizza and will be soon going to bed.

Tomorrow will be exciting...promise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb