Race Mode


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Triathletes are here! I did race packet pick-up today, checked out the race course and hung out around the city today. I am not big on getting a bunch of race gear because they are always overpriced, but I was hoping to get something and there was not a thing! This can only mean one thing – finisher packet is going to be really cool! As I went through the pick-up ritual; find your number, weight in, get your number, time chip, bag and look at what is there, I started to get that race excitement that I always get.

There is a feeling I get when I am at every race that quickly reminds me why I do this, even when I feel the least prepared. I had my first dream of racing and this only happens when I feel ready; it typically happens for the 2-3 weeks before my big race of the year, but it happened last night. So whether I am really ready or not, I am at least excited.

I have no clue how many people/are racing in my age group – the race list is by alphabetical order! It is driving me crazy to know how many people there are. But I will say, as you look through the list there are very few doing the long course race. I think I stand a really good chance placing in the top 20…but then again there might only be 20 women doing the race.

I found a place to sit in the park and walk the Seafront Path. As I was looking at the skyline, I started to notice how beautiful it was, and then there is a park area that runs along the skyline, then Conriche Rd. that is 4 lanes wide each way, the beach and water…reminds me of home. Just like home, but with newer buildings, a cleaner park, and cleaner water for sure that smells better and a brand new “Seafront Path” without cracks and holes in the middle of the path. I love this place even more. It felt nice to be in a place that felt a little like home.

From here, my journey starts to become boring to the every day traveler who doesn't get the whole racing part as to why I am here in the first place. But that is okay, I have thoroughly enjoyed my adventure. But from here forward, this is where it gets good...I get to ride my bike on the Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Race Track!!! How cool is that?! It is time for me to start focusing on hydration as the days get hotter. I will be going through my checklist as I drive the bike (riding not so easy to do around here, but I have found a place. Swim in the Gulf and run the course. It is time.

* Coffee really does suck around here. I am still trying to find a good cup – disappointing.
* I walked over to the beach today – I have never seen this color of blue come from water before, the pictures don’t do it justice.
* The beaches are so clean – that is because they charge to go onto the beach.
* In fact the city has no trash cans, yet there is no trash on the streets at all – there are guys in red jumpsuits picking up any little piece a paper there is on the ground.
* Seriously, don’t try to sell me something that doesn’t fit and insist that it fits me! – There is a difference between a loose fit top and something that is hanging off of you because it is too big. I think if you are going to work in retail sales, know the difference. I am annoyed now and will not buy a thing from you no matter how much I like it.
* My favorite saying of the day is: “You will laugh your guts out”
* Seriously, there is a TV show on Star Gold called: Terre Bin Laddin


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb