Beauty and the Beast -Stage rehearsal


Advertisement
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Officer's Club theatreThe Officer's Club theatreThe Officer's Club theatre

This theatre is very impressive!
Hello everyone,

Well the countdown is on till I return home on June 22nd...Can't wait! There is nothing like being away to appreciate the return all the more. I thought I would send some pictures about our rehearsal for the play. The theatre is just amazing...there is an orchestra pit that can be lowered and there is a part of the stage that turns. This is really out of the box for me...I have discovered that I still love to sing in a choir only...I despise dancing. I chose to dance on the stairs with the uncoordinated group! I'll forget everything anyways. This is my first and last time in musical theatre. The process is amazing though...the curtains have to be organized just right with appropriate weights that have to be adjusted...the lighting of course must be appropriate for the scenes...Everything has to come together and at this stage I'm not sure how it will ever be right. We still don't know the dances completely and yet we are supposed to do it synchronous of one another. It will be interesting and I am completely terrified of course but it definitely passes the time. We have one to two nights
rehearsals a week and one full day rehearsal.
We will have an orchestra as well which we have not as yet practiced with. I have learned from experience since singing with the Sudbury Symphony orchestra many years back that a few practices just aren't enough! I'm crossing my fingers that I don't trip on my period skirt and fall on my face. Coordination is not my strong suit! The next pictures I will post are of the actual play! I hope everything goes well!

Bye for now,

Sherry




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Waiting in the wingsWaiting in the wings
Waiting in the wings

Katie waits to go on...she sings beautifully!
Talia in her baker costumeTalia in her baker costume
Talia in her baker costume

She ate too much bread...so she got a bubble butt. Note to self...stop eating bread!
SimonSimon
Simon

Our music director gets really into it.
costume fittingcostume fitting
costume fitting

Pat is an amazing costume organizer! Mine is not ready yet...I'm having a blouse made.
the pub scenethe pub scene
the pub scene

Here we are practising drinking beer and being drunk! Oh where will I get my inspiration!
The setThe set
The set

Here is the center of our town with a fountain made by a carpenter. The set is very impressive!


19th April 2010

Cool theatre
Hey Sherry. Can't wait to see you when you get back. Please give me a call then. 519-474-9404 (in case you do not have it in your stuff when you get back. Have a fun time with what is left. Jill
19th April 2010

good luck on performance night...break a leg?!
I am so excited for you Sherry! It sounds like a great experience and your pictures make me wish I could come and watch it. I'm sure it'll be awesome....I love musicals, especially this one. Can't wait to see you in costume and get more pictures on the big night. Looking forward to seeing you in Sudbury and getting together. Break a leg. Tracy
21st April 2010

Merde!
C'est super je suis exitée pour toi un vrai rêve de faire une présentation sur une scène comme ca je te dis Le mot de Cambronne (merde) Nathalie Dumas à bientôt!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb