Canadian International School


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
August 18th 2009
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

The front of the school
Hey everyone,

I thought I would talk a bit about the school as I have been getting many questions about it. We had our first staff meeting today. All week we will be picked up at 8:30 a.m. Yes, I actually drag myself out of bed at 6:30 a.m. to work out, eat breakfast and get ready. It's a miracle...I know! School officially starts the 30th of August so we have all this time to set up our classrooms. My class is smaller than Chantal and Anita's classes and I have no bathroom! That will be interesting - DID I MENTION THEY START JUNIOR KINDERGARTEN HERE AT THE AGE OF 3!! Pray for me that they are all potty
trained! It is a 30 minute drive to the school from downtown Abu Dhabi and we are in a type of suburb called Khalifa A where there are mainly mansions and construction. Nothing here seems to be built completely as all you see are cranes and more cranes absolutely everywhere.
Our school day with the children starts at 8 a.m. and ends at 3 p.m. for the others but for me my day ends at 1:00 with the kids but I
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Most of what is being constructed are new homes...or should I say mansions. Some have 14 bedrooms in them.
have the rest of the day to organize and plan. Oh...I didn't mention the best part....I have a HELPER IN THE CLASS WITH ME! Can you believe it! I will start out with 18 kids and I have been told that that will increase as the year progresses. They have a room for their V.I.P's. Can u guess what that stands for ? Very Important Parents. Most all of the mother's chooses not to work (because they don't have to) and guess what preocsupies their every waking moment...their kids. Some will stay all day I have heard. Sound somewhat familiar? We have long range plans and daily planning to organize just as any other school would ask you to do. It's funny but aside from all the sand and the heat...DID I ALREADY MENTION IT WAS HOT?...it is just like any other school in Canada. The staff is REALLY friendly and helpful. I'm thinking it's going to be a great school year.

Bye for now, Sher


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

A Maple leaf on the wall surrounding the school.
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

The view outside the front doors of school.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

The bus that takes us to school everyday displays our address. That is mine by the way. There are NO mail carriers here so any mail must be sent to the school. That is my adress.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

One of the back doors leading to the courtyard. The gym teacher does a lot of teaching outside (for soccer, baseball, etc.- how would you like to teach outside all day at 45 degrees Celsius?
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

Great spiral staircase!


18th August 2009

Wow!
Salut Sherry! Sounds like in fact this will be an interesting school year. An assistant in your class, lots of prep time and by the look of it, looks like a luxuary school! I am jealous! :-) As for the weather...we have been having 40+ degree temp since you left. Too bad you did not experience this sooner, might have been easier for your body to adapt! Keep up the good work with training! I guess if you keep it all year, you will be the winner of our little bet...
19th August 2009

Hey Sherry, looks and sounds amazing. I could easily be a "canadian wife" out there!! How exciting for you.
19th August 2009

Wow. Sounds great. Nice pictures. Are you being bused to school even when school officially starts? If school will be starting at 8:00, what time will you be getting up then? ahhhh. I guess your bedtime will be closer to mine in the near future if you'll be getting up that early! Take care.
21st August 2009

Hey2
Sounds cool. Keep blogging. This is fun. Live it up girl.
27th August 2009

Wow!
Hey Sherry. What a life! Enjoy it;-)
28th August 2009

Done!
Hi there. It's done. Send me an email at work - llaverdiere@childcare.on.ca, and I'll send you a copy of the message - I like it. Hope you do. Definitely worth talking to his friends about. Hope you're doing well! Lynn
6th March 2010

Hi! I just found your blog and have found it interesting to read. I live in Khalifa A and actually work right near your school (at the women's college).

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb