The Grand Bazaar


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
March 13th 2016
Published: March 13th 2016
Edit Blog Post

(*old but very first blog post on my travels)



My eyes light up in both excitement and curiosity, as I stand before the mighty grand bazaar, famous for its insane craziness. I enter a dream state where my senses are running wild, so many different smells and things to see, what on Earth does my brain register first? Then, Bang!, as I am brought abruptly back into reality as I am pushed and shoved by a few stray Turkish locals.

As I quickly come to realize the crazy world that I just stepped my tired feet into, one particular Turkish man manages to catch my attention, "Such a beautiful lady, I wish to marry you" as I myself am coming to terms of my potential marriage proposal, another Turkish man speaks up "Oh he is lying my lady, after all I can offer such a better life for a gorgeous lady like yourself" Amongst confusion I realize these men aren't actually proposing a future together, there just simply trying to sell their Turkish delight.

After several taste tests of every flavour you can think of Turkish delight and a slight tummy ache, I have come to the conclusion that honey Turkish delight is among the most amazing tastes I have experienced amongst my many travels. The sweet taste of raspberry Turkish delight with a hint of honey after taste, simply to die for.

I however may have been persuaded to buy a kilo bag of honey Turkish delight over the standard version, due to the cuter Turkish man who had more wooing the ladies skills then actual life skills (hey, I'm only human), but as I sit in my hostel bunk bed eating that said delicious Turkish delight at midnight, I smile at my experience from earlier on. The Grand Bazaar of Istanbul is a new world within itself : full of hectic, crazy, funny and quirky people just trying to make a living, dozens upon dozens of different smells to hit your nose all at once and simply stunning displays of sweets, amongst street food and keep sakes. Oh and did I mention the honey Turkish delight?

As I hit a sugar high, I say to myself "No regrets" (except for the immense belly ache that is arising in my stomach)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb