Ankara Away


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Only a few more hours before I am away from Ankara. This has been quite a different experience to the other Turkish cities I have visited. Almost no tourists. All the commerce here is for the Turks. I sat in a restaurant this morning that did not have an English menu. The waiter spoke very good English. However, English speakers here are the exception.

Last night I took a taxi to the 100 m tall Akatule tower. There is a revolving restaurant. Sure I paid more for dinner, but it was a good view. Still, I paid less than I had at some Greek restaurants. I have never been to a revolving restaurant before; only the floor moves while the outer walls, ceiling and inner core remain fixed. I took a few photos before the sun set, but this proved challenging because although I was looking at something, I was actually moving so some shots were blurred. It took a few trials to get it right. A fancy restaurant too, the waiters wore waist jackets and bow ties, and I could get a beer with food at the same time. I sat for two hours eating and writing postcards and swept through about 450 degrees, one and a quarter turns around Ankara way down below.

Today, I visited the Ataturk Mausoleum. He is a National Hero without equal. There is no point having a Turkish television program contest "Who is the Greatest Turk?" There are posters and statues all over the country. And why shouldn't he be revered? After all, he gave the Turks a country. The Mausoleum and the surroundng grounds are very large, spacious, clean and imposing. The guards were entertaining to watch with their hard stepping march. There is also a museum, a gift shop and a cafe. I bought an ice tea.

One part of Turkish culture I have noticed is that almost everyone I deal with is male. I almost never interact with females. All shop clerks, hotel clerks, bus attendents and drivers, restaurant waiters, museum and other sites. I see women in the streets, but I don't see them working in jobs with the public. Not many women wear the head scarf in Ankara, and according to LP, if you work for the government or go to university a woman is not allowed to wear a Muslim head scarf. Still, Turkey is a very traditional society.

While on the coast I asked a waiter why all the prices quoted were in Euros. He told me it was in anticıpation of joining the EU. Really, it was catering for the tourists. Although negotiations have begun, and although entry might be inevitable it will not be immediate. Ankara's a way to go before it becomes European.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb