My first day in Antakya


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
May 3rd 2012
Published: May 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

CourtyardCourtyardCourtyard

Ah, the lovely view from the courtyard, behind the blue door.
I woke to rain beating on my windows and out in the hallway and courtyard it smelled of wet plaster and life. I had my first lunch with Barbara and the others in a nice kitchen that was as warm and friendly as it was functional. Barbara has a “room” – several times a day people come to sing songs, read the passages of the mystics and look inward. It is a solid stone room that amplifies the music and the voices. It is a small – holy space. The stone working in this country is extraordinary - We are staying in the old part of the city, right across the river. Less than five minutes away there is a bazaar and a mosque which calls the city to pray – it is a haunting sound. The bazaar was not quite what I expected. It was full of modern things – like shoes, cell phones and cosmetics. Underneath it though was something more. There were shops with dried fruits, spices and nuts. There was also traditional bargaining and men smoking in groups, laughing deeply. I managed to navigate well enough to buy a cell phone, get some traditional incense for the
Bazaar Bazaar Bazaar

A few minutes away - teeming with people, sights and smells.
house (as a gift) and make it back to the blue door that opens onto our courtyard – our home for the next month or so.

Tomorrow I begin my real work. There will be museums and archives to find, to mine – to explore. For now though – I am content locked away in my room.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The MountainThe Mountain
The Mountain

Not sure WHAT mountain this is actually - but it points me in the direction of home.


4th May 2012

Beautiful
How beautiful the photos and your writings. I hope that you keep up the blog so I can see your world. Tell me more of the sights, sounds, smells, taste, and feeling of the world about you.
4th May 2012

Ahhh...
It sounds so beautiful! I am glad you are relaxing and enjoying yourself.

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb