Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
July 9th 2005
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


During the season I had the opportunity to travel to Turkey. It was basically my first trip to a country where English isn't the first language. Immediately I found a little confusion and things different when the person sent to pick me up, lost where he had parked his car and I was put in a taxi, with no one speaking English!

The 4 laned roads, quickly became 8 lanes, with little adherence to lane space by the drivers. After weaving in and out of traffic like I was in an episode of 'The Amazing Race' I managed to settle into my accommodation in Istanbul.

I checked out many of the sites of Istanbul from the Grand Bazaar, to the Blue Mosque. They were both large sites and very different! It was extremely hot there and so I took to the ferry area and check out the Bosphorous, which divides Istanbul into two parts, and where the official change from Europe to Asia takes place. On one side of the river is Asia and on the other is Europe, which I found fascinating.

But the real reason I decided to go to Turkey was to visit Gallipoli and
Blue MosqueBlue MosqueBlue Mosque

Outside the Blue Mosque
see the sites that put us as a country, basically, on the map.

.....more to come


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Troy Troy
Troy

Ruins
Troy Troy
Troy

The horse from the movie Troy, now in Cannakale


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb