I'm in Turkey!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antalya
June 1st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm only occasionally not clicking "quiet publish" so I don't clog all your inboxes. But I have written A LOT since I sent out a publish notification so if you have missed the past couple weeks of entries and wish to read you can click on previous entries.

I arrived in Turkey a few days ago, and have been getting settled. This week I start to work out what I'll be doing here this summer with the special needs population. It is nice to be out of Uzbekistan, and I have really enjoyed re aquainting myself with Antalya! I had forgotten, or now have a new appreciation for the beauty of this place! It is truly beautiful when speaking of the shoreline, the sea and the mountains! It has also changed quite a bit in 3 years. It has become a lot more westernized and is a more modern city. Everything is a lot more expensive now too. Gas prices have almost tripled. They are working toward going to the Euro because the goal is to become part of the EU. I have a cell phone for the summer here which is nice! It was kind of surreal when I was swimming in the sea this morning ( a little detour on the morning run) and my dad called my cell phone from the US. So I got out of the water, and called him back as I looked out on the blue mediterranean, with little fish swimming along in the clear water right where I had just been. It sure felt strange talking to him in Puyallup!

I have been hanging out a lot with Verna (Our project facilitator when I was here for deputation after my senior year of college) and Ben (her husband), and Karn (Ben and Verna's daughter), who I'm staying with, and paying rent. Karn has a Turkish girl who's in highschool, named Ishugul (not sure of the spelling) staying with her also who doesn't speak much English. Since I don't speak much Turkish it might work out that we both learn from each other! It's funny because I pass by really nicely for a Turk until I speak. It has happened repeatedly that I go into a shop, the sales person says something like a welcoming remark to me in Turkish, I smile and nod hoping I can get by without saying anything,
View from my windowView from my windowView from my window

I'm on the 7th floor of an apartment building, located next to a busy street with constant car noise! Located right next to a large hospital in town.
but then eventually I have to speak and it starts this whole thing where I say "do you speak English?" and they look confused or shake their head and then go find someone in the store who does because they think I have a question. When really I don't wish to talk- just want them to know I don't speak Turkish so they don't think I'm ignoring them! So I've started to learn a few important phrases. Today a guy in one store said he thought I was Turkish until I said "Merhaba" (Hello) back when he said it to me, and he knew I was foreign because I guess I didn't say it with the right accent or something. Anyway, I haven't taken a lot of pictures yet but for now here's a mix of a few pictures from 3 years ago, and some from now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sunrise from my windowSunrise from my window
Sunrise from my window

Saturday morning I couldn't sleep so captured a few photos of the sunrise.
Good morning AntalyaGood morning Antalya
Good morning Antalya

Especially all those with bedrooms facing East.
A picture I took in '05A picture I took in '05
A picture I took in '05

Antalya's Coastline
A picture I took in '05A picture I took in '05
A picture I took in '05

Jumping off the cliffs into the sea
Our '05 deputation teamOur '05 deputation team
Our '05 deputation team

So many memories with this great group. When we were here 3 years ago we taught arts and crafts, games, and gymnastics to children at a summer school in town for children with disadvantaged backgrounds.


Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb