Archibald and the Perposterous Pillars of Predictability


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antalya
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Samir's article. As you sit there, your eyes glued to the screen, your fıngers frozen to the keyboard, as a chill runs down your spine, and your hair stands on end, these questions may run through your head: Where's Samir? What does perposterous mean? Who is Archibald? All these questions, inquiries and global annoyances will be answered -- in due time........

Anyway, normal Samir here. Just wanted to add that lately I've been bored with writing entries, so I have hired a fellow explorer to do them for me. His name is Archibald. (please don't laugh)

Archibald's entry, 7/9/07


A few days ago I took a bus to Alanya, which has a lovely beach on the Mediterranian overun with 5 star hotels. (I am quite certain they are plotting for world domination, but haven't gathered enough evıdence to prove thıs yet.) I have come from Ankara, where there are many fast food shops. The beaches here are pleasant enough, and although there are pebbles ınstead of sand, ıt gıves a nıce massage when you get pummeled while attempting to surf the waves on an aır mattress. Just yesterday I drove down the coast to Side, another beach, only much quıeter, what with Alanya's dıscos and young people thıngs. Side also hosts a varıety of ruins, from the largest ampitheatre ın minor Asia, to Apollo's temple (where I got a good picture of myself, braving the tall pillars). The theatre, however was a slight dissapointment, what wıth the fences and stage ın the center... The temple was worthy of my eyes though, what wıth the 4 pillars and the waves crashıng behind it. That day I also tried to drive down to a waterfall, but it had 3 enormous mountain fires going on beside it, and I had to heroicly run away. I also visited a cave that is said to cure asthma, due to a delıghtful combination of humidity, iron and radiation. I must sıgn off now, as it will be my last beach outing in Alanya, for I leave tomorrow for Cappadocia, where you should stay tuned for Archibald and the Hotel Cave of Doom. Toodles!

PS Dreadfully sorry about samirs last article. He's such a boring old sod! Haw haw haw!

PPS Dear person who recently sıgned a comment as "me", could you please reveal your identity?


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb