My Kurdish Friend


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antakya
July 8th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Kitten Comfort 75 secs
Okay, I know I haven't been writing much but I contracted amoebic dysentery. I have been in constant pain, going to the bathroom over 10 x a day. What I mistakenly thought was travel sickness several weeks ago quickly became dangerous. First came the rapid weight loss then the blood. The last 10 days I have been under constant medical care including four days at the hospital. Hopefully I am free of this now but my stomach still hurts and I am understandably weakened as I haven't been able to eat well for over a month. My good friend Bilal has been my constant companion through this journey. He went to the doctor, stayed over nights with me in the hospital - witness my emotional outbursts, in short - was an angel. The boys brought me flowers, playing cards, candy and cola :D I have been living a nightmare quite frankly and my body and mind are exhausted. The good news is the last sample was clean. Although the doctor warned us that it does not mean that it is over - simply better. I will need follow up tests, rest and my diet should be very mild. But on a bright note - the doctor says drink lots of soda.... I'm so there.

This is my special thanks though to the guy who stuck it out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb