A Dog's Life


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antakya
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

First CafeFirst CafeFirst Cafe

Where we ate lunch!
Today I went with Bebek, formerly known as Ekmek. We had to rename her because Ekmek is considered holy and naming the dog that could be seen as offensive… whatever. So back to my story… Bebek and I caught a bus to Harbiye – to the Springs of Daphne. As you head down into the falls you are surrounded by little shops selling cheap junk, bobbles, tchotchkes, you know the stuff – only here it has Ataturk, crescent moons and evil eyes on it. We walk to the first falls, oh they are so beautiful. Bebek is fascinated by the water, me by the smell across the dirt road. (I had forgotten to eat breakfast) We wander into an outdoor café and she and I share some chicken, in the shade. It was hot today, but down in the springs it is wet, shady and deliciously cool.

After eating we walked around, hoping shady spots and water pools, being silly and entertaining the other tourists. Apparently an American with puppy is just too much fun to pass up! She is a hit – even those that are scared of her smile. Well in their defense she does have the sweetest little face. Anyway – we wander the rest of the way down until we reach another café in the midst of the falls. I have tea, Bebek has a nap.

Then it’s off for home again, winding our way back up the mountain – waving goodbye, stopping to be petted – you know, a typical dog’s life.

Quick History of the Springs:

It is believed that Daphne, daughter of Peneus (the river god) was pursued by Apollo. Now, Daphne - Virgin Nymph that she was was horrifed by the prospect and begged her father to keep him away, as she wanted to be like Diana - which ironically is also Artemis - twin sister to Apollo - but I digress. Anyway - so to honor his daughter wish, Peneus turned her into a Spring - thus escaping the love struck god Apollo. (Who also btw, was struck dumb by Cupid in some versions of the tale.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



1st June 2012

Please!!!
Is Bebek the skinny little puppy you fed in the street? I hope you can get back here to civilization with your darling furry baby. Keep me posted. I bawled like a baby when I read about the poor little thing laying there so hungry. PS...I had to fire Molly. Damn.

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb