A Tale of Two Continents


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
August 12th 2006
Published: August 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Istanbul, looking toward the European sideIstanbul, looking toward the European sideIstanbul, looking toward the European side

Standing in Asia looking toward Europe at sunset.
This afternoon I went to Asia. It's only a 20 minute trip on the ferry across the Bosphorus. There is not much to do as a tourist on the other side, I found myself always looking toward the European side. I am staying in a hotel on the European side, all the major sights are on the European side and most of the commerce is on the European side. I waited until the sun set looking toward Europe, as the minarets silhouhetted against the red sky. I had dinner in Asia tonight.

I crossed back into Europe and watched as Istanbul was turning on its lights. Quite a sight. Ferries cross the Bosphorus as large container ships work up and down from the Black Sea to the Mediterranean. It's a very busy and entertaining stretch of water indeed.

I returned to the European dock into a frenzy of activity. Every possible item you can imagine was spread out on the ground for sale. Shirts, socks, ties, toys, watches, wallets, cell phones, fish sandwiches, belts, shoes, trousers, underwear. All this is sold for the Turks, not for the tourists. I am sure the prices are cheap. But stay away from the fish sandwiches, this is the quickest way to the bathroom for many of us. An intense few minutes as I made my way from the dock side to a cafe. I thought I would sit at a cafe, have a drink and write a few words. This proved challenging as the cafe I sat in had a live performer playing an oud very loudly; this is because he had to compete against the cafe next door who had a guitar player making music even louder. The European side has proved the more colourful, loud, smelly and intense side of Istanbul.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb