Land of Many Great Empires (GEEK!!) (Day 102 to Day 115)


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
April 26th 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In the last two weeks, I went from an absolute feeling of homesickness to an extreme need for adventure. At the end I almost changed my plans to reach China via Armenia, Georgia, Uzbekistan and all these centrel Asian -istan countries, but I calmed down and it would have taken too much time anyway. It will be for a future trip...

My homesickness came from bad water that I drank at the end in Egypt. I had this bad "once in a lifetime" diarrhea, stomach pains and cold sweats for 5 days. It made my stay in Cyprus very shitty. And I could not even see the places and fortresses that I came here to visit because there was no bus serving theses Northeastern areas of the island.


C'est un des desavantages de voyager seul : Tu ne peux pas partager les frais pour un taxi, ou pour une location de voiture ou pour les chambres d'hotel. A moins de rencontrer du monde en chemin bien sur. Un autre desavantage c'est lorsqu'il est temps de chercher pour un hotel ou pour des billets d'autobus/trains/bateaux. Tu ne peux pas dire a ton partner :"Attends moi ici avec les sacs pendant
My hostel in GöremeMy hostel in GöremeMy hostel in Göreme

My hobbit room was at the top of it. You see the little window? This was my room. It took me back to the time we were building snow castles...
que je vais essayer de trouver un hotel". Les voyageurs savent de quoi je parle. Quand ca fait 2 heures que tu cherches pour un bon deal, le poids du sac a dos peut te faire flancher pour de moins bon deals. Finalement il y a les soirees un peu down que t'aimerais etre avec un bon vieu pote qui te connait bien. Par contre, il y a autant d'avantages et ce ne sont que de maigres desavantages pour vivre ce que je vis en ce moment.

Eventually, my bad feelings were totally transformed in happiness and good will as I was healthy again and as I reached Cappadocia after 36 hours, 2 cabs, 1 ferry, 4 buses, one night in a dirty transport hub and too many cigarettes. I don't know how to describe my stay in Cappadocia, Mesopotamia and Constantinopol ... ho sorry, Istanbul. Let's just say that I felt like a kid again and Turkey was definitely an highlight of this round the world trip. It is the only place where I felt that I left too fast. In a few words, I stayed in a lovely hobbit hole on top of a rock in Goreme,
Early Christian frescoesEarly Christian frescoesEarly Christian frescoes

More than a millenium old frescoes in one of the many carved monastery in Cappadocia. To think that Christianity spread out from here was pretty impressive, especially when you know how this religion changed the world.
explored huge underground cities, wandered through some amazing and the most weird geological features in Cappadocia, dreamed about how life was when these people lived in houses and churches carved in the rock, visited mud brick huts villages at the Syrian border, got stunned at Nemrud's sunrise, met some really great people and finally fullfilled my geekiness in Istanbul as I've read many books about the history of the city, during Byzantine as well as Ottoman times. Also a big special thanks to Ana for this big special city tour of this big special Istanbul. And now as I'm writing these lines, the loudest Iman I have heard so far is calling the prayer from the Blue Mosque right beside my hotel. Anyway, it was refreshing and I think I won't be homesick for a while now. Even If I miss friends and family. But that's normal, I miss them all the time wherever I am.

En 23 heures, 3 avions et seulement $417, je vais etre chez un tres bon ami a Tokyo. En fait ca fait 15 ans qu'on se connait et nous avons accomplit tous les mauvais coups ensembles. Quand je l'ai dit a mere, elle
Near Göreme...Near Göreme...Near Göreme...

While hiking Capadocia, I've got hit by one of the baddest hail storm I have seen in my life. I had to run for a while to find a roof in this desertic zone.
m'a repondu "Ha ouin lui!". On a perdu contact ces dernieres annees parce qu'il vivait au Japon. Ou plutot parce que j'ai perdu contact avec pas mal tout le monde ces derniers 4 ans. Enfin, ca promet et on va avoir tout le temps pour reprendre le temps perdu. D'autant plus que c'est conge national au Japon pour une semaine!!

Sur ce, j'ai bien hate de vous voire la face. Que ce soit pendant mon voyage ou de retour a la maison.

Prenez soin de vous autres!

Nikolas






Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Haran IHaran I
Haran I

18 km from Syria ... one other country I absolutely have to visit!!
Sunset at Atatürk DamSunset at Atatürk Dam
Sunset at Atatürk Dam

One of the biggest dam in the world ... and terrorist-proof!!
Nemrud SunriseNemrud Sunrise
Nemrud Sunrise

We woke up at 2h30am, drove two hours, climbed the mountain, waited about an hour but it was definitely worth it.
Freezing and Loving it!Freezing and Loving it!
Freezing and Loving it!

Nemrud is a 2134 meters high mountain. It is not that high but at 5am, with insanely strong winds, surrounded by snow, the temperature was probably about -20C. Also I learned that I have altitude problem (attitude also probably!). I could not catch my breath, I had a bad headache and wanted to vomit. The good news it that I will know it for future destinations and higher summits and I bought pills for these kind of pains before I left Montreal ... so it's all good!
Next Day...Next Day...
Next Day...

The next day after Nemrud, It was so hot, I walked 20 km through Cappadocia, climbed moutains, got lost a few times, got sunburned, sweated my life away. But as I was asking directions to the farmers (talkıng with signs obviously) and as I was observing them labouring their lands the very old way, I realized that was probably one of the best day of my trip. Of my life? Certainly... And yes Mom! I'm still alive!
Blue MosqueBlue Mosque
Blue Mosque

First sight of Istanbul I had when I came out of the bus at 7h00am (no tourist!)
1500 years old Sofya...1500 years old Sofya...
1500 years old Sofya...

My geekiness has never been fed that well!!!
Fishermen fishing fıshes...Fishermen fishing fıshes...
Fishermen fishing fıshes...

...in the Golden Horn from Galate Bridge.


29th April 2010

Simplement fou!!! xx
3rd October 2010
Ortakoy Mosque and Bosphore Bridge

honestly, i do not know how to vote :) if i could, i would definitely vote for this one :) ;)

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb