Day 1: Istanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
November 26th 2009
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally in Turkey, the flight was fine. Turkish Airlines with the compulsory delay and the blunt staff. My seat wouldn't stay upright so I had to hold onto the chair infront and sort of lean in the crash position when we were taking off. This time the flight was delayed for only 20 minutes so I can't complain, yipee!!!. I don't know if it was the faulty chair but by the time I got to Istanbul by back was aching and I was starving (they forgot my vegetarian meal).

My first impressions of Istanbul, just another Barcelona or Lisbon with a couple of mosques and minarets chucked in (instead of churches). The taxi drivers drive the same as in Lisbon, kind of crazy and boy did I feel glad to have some crazyness. If the driver thought I would freak out then he was soooo wrong, gimme a car spinning out of control and you'll see me smile. I tried to practise my Turkish on K's aunt who met us at the airport (I could see the taxi driver laugh in the mirror).... "Evet, Istanbul çok güzel" I was saying and they were all laughing.

We drove past the Küçükçekmece inlet and into a district where we would be staying with K's family. It might be really far from central Istanbul but it is buzzing with activity, it has the same energy as Kowloon... very working class, people rushing all over the place. There are basic little cafes selling the most amazing Turkish pastries and coffee. Sorry guys, I don't know the name of them.

You know something, the streets are so damn elegant, I don't mean all fancy with amazing architecture etc, more the way the Turkish people are, very polite and people don't stare like they do in northern Europe. Everyone around here seems so well mannered, maybe it is because i'm a northern European girl who is obviously in transit I just don't know but it is like a breath of fresh air, out of the dreary north and into something totally different.

I've got a couple of days in Istanbul before I head off to India, really looking forward to seeing what Istanbul has to offer. I know something already, I love the Turkish people, they are the BEST!!!!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb