Busy


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Giving thanksGiving thanksGiving thanks

We stood in a circle and all said something we were grateful for. c/o Leyna
Oh man, until about 5PM today I've barely had any time to even think since Thanksgiving morning. Let's do a little rewind and see what has kept me so busy in the interim.

Thursday was aaaaweesommmeee. I really missed my family--particularly my brother--but Thanksgiving in Istanbul turned out to be one of the best I've ever had. As you may be able to see from the photos, there were a lot of people in my room/apartment. There were originally going to be 16 of them, but in the end there was something in the mid-twenties because, of course, it was Thanksgiving, and anyone who didn't have a place to go who asked, or who just showed up, or who I particularly thought of/like was invited. Everyone showed up with food and we had a giant potluck. The day of I found turkey (which is surprisingly hard to find in the country of Turkey--they only eat it here on New Year's) at an expensive-ass store in Bebek (a super-rich yuppie neighborhood just down the hill towards the water from my own neighborhood where almost everything is literally at least three times as expensive) that had a number of other things I'd
Giving thanks 2Giving thanks 2Giving thanks 2

Leyna was not able to capture all of the people in my room even between these two photos. c/o Leyna
been unable to find in Turkey, like peanut butter. I dropped 100 lira on a medium-sized turkey and my friend Emma cooked it in her oven. I would have stayed, except she lives in a religious house where boys aren't allowed, and my own oven was broken. She used the NYT-endorsed 45 minute turkey recipe and it turned out amazingly, which made it seem like a much more homey, legitimate Thanksgiving. With turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, mulled wine, and uh, other stuff in hand, we enjoyed each other's company and ate and drank to our heart's content. I didn't expect it to be as boisterous as it was, but...well...it was. There were epic spooning parties, Third Eye Blind sing-alongs, Sarah Palin impressions, and at least one make-out. Everyone left at about 2 AM--and many of them more concerned, apparently, with making their way home without breaking their teeth than with, you know, bringing all of the things they brought here with them back home. Many of the things people did bring here with them are still here, four days later. All in all, it was fantastic and highly memorable.

Friday I had class and met Kendra's good friend who
Ariel and IAriel and IAriel and I

I really really love this girl! c/o Frank
I like a good deal so far and is visiting from Edmonton and saw Paul's band live finally. The concert was at a small venue in Taksim called Dogz Star, and when I was there I felt like I was back home--nothing like a bunch of high school kids with goofy hair cuts and post-rock bands to remind you of the old Ground Zero Teen Center on a Friday night.

Saturday, Dan and I saw Topkapı Palace, the palace the Ottomans built on the site of the old Byzantine palace that was there before it which was apparently so incredible the many of the crusaders couldn't actually believe it was made by human hands. Unfortunately Tokpapı is not nearly so impressive. Then I played Starcraft and ate ice cream surreptitiously while smoking nargile at Cafe Bu with many people I like.

And today I finally saw Rana San, who I've known for like 10 years and who has been living in this city for about a year herself. It was great. I also just talked to my mother for about a half-hour, which was wonderful!

And tomorrow I have lots of class and a quiz. And friday
My amazing roommatesMy amazing roommatesMy amazing roommates

Afşın L, Mustafa R. They had a good time!
I leave for Cyprus! And on the 10th Derya and his mother arrive!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dogz StarDogz Star
Dogz Star

Massive.


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb