Strange


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
October 19th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I didn't end up going to either of the two remaining Jazz Fest shows I had tickets to. The first one I didn't go to because I read the time wrong and thought it began a couple hours later than it did. So I dragged Kendra all the way out there for nothing. Silly me. It was okay, though; it ended up being a more interesting night than most Fridays regardless. We went swimming in the Bosphorous at 2 in the morning, thankfully without getting stung by jellyfish (which I later realized were just kinda swimmin around the same area we did) or getting hit by supertankers. Then later she carried me, on her back, all the way up the hill from Bebek to Hisarüstü. You probably don't know what that means, you people at home, but basically this hill is not so much a hill as a fucking mountain. Like in New England they would literally call it a mountain--and it would clear the minimum requirements with room to spare. I was under the impression that she was doing it mostly just because she could, though I didn't think she would actually go through with it so I told her if she did I would give her 20 lira. It took an hour, but it happened and it was awe-inspiring--epic. I also found out that it only takes a couple hours to walk all the way down to Beşiktaş from here, which is good to know. A lot shorter than I would have thought for some reason.

Anyway, the night after that I was supposed to go to Charlie Hunter Trio with Dan and Eda. Dan flaked out because he sucks, and when Eda and I got there we realized there were no tickets left. I anti-scalped my ticket (I probably could have gotten 40 lira for it but I settled on 12) and we went to DJ Food, the last act of the whole Jazz Festival, at midnight. DJ Food was kinda eh.

Anyway, school is starting to get the remotest bit challenging. I have an essay due on Friday and my first quiz tomorrow! Still not too hard, though.

I'm gonna start having jam sessions on Thursdays; renting the school's Music Club's pretty high-quality jam room for two hours a week is only $60. $60 for the rest of the semester. Wtf sweet.

Other than that, nothing. JK that's a lie. Just nothing in particular.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb