The Start of a New Quarter Century


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

EminonuEminonuEminonu

The sun teasing us just minutes before setting
Hoş geldiniz! Welcome!

After a drought of blog entries, and quite frankly a lack of inspiration...er laziness... I'm back on the ball.

For those of you who have, for whatever reason, missed out on my emails, last 5 months of planning, Facebook updates, and anything else I do to publish my life...I bring to you my latest move...to Istanbul!
I traveled to Turkey back in March with Leslie, a friend who I worked with in Barcelona, for 10 days during which the country stole my heart from Spain.

Almost right after returning back to Barcelona I set out searches for English teaching jobs in Istanbul. I ended with a position at English First--a Swiss company that's been running for almost 40 years, at a branch in Levent, the business area of Istanbul. I've only had two days of classes so far, which have been for business people in their companies at places in the likes of Levi-Strauss and Vodafone. I'm crossing my fingers for some free jeans or cell phone minutes out of this deal. Because August is the low season in terms of teaching, the rest of the classes that I'm doing are substitutions for teachers who are taking their holiday. It's both a blessing and a curse, being that I'll never get sick of having to be with the same group, but also because I'm just the sub it'll be difficult to get any depth in subject matter. Maybe things will changes once people come back from holidays.

I find myself now sharing a flat in Şişli, a modern neighborhood of Istanbul on the European side, with a Canadian girl. We're right by the biggest mosque in the neighborhood, Şişli Camii, from which you can hear 5 prayer calls a day--the first at sunrise and the last at sunset. On Fridays, the holy day in Islam, the midday prayer is so popular that men pour out onto the street, laying their small rugs and facing Mecca right there amongst traffic--both foot and cars alike, vendors selling their food, and street performers. They don't miss out on the imam's service because it's broadcast from the speakers in the minurets. It really is an incredible sight to see.

I find myself unbelievably humbled after living for 2 years in a country where I can easily communicate with the population, and now feeling like a newborn baby who can't do anything for herself. I have one thing to say--Turkish ain't easy. I mean nothing appears anything like English, or Spanish, or Latin or anything I've ever seen before. Let's take for example the numbers one through five- bir, iki, üç, dört, beş--only the beginning. I'm not complaining though, actually I'm pretty up for the challenge. I've invested in some conversation books, dictionaries, and listening CDs, not to mention that my school has told me that they're willing to provide a Turkish course given that it fits with my work schedule. In any event the odds are in my favour, Turkish people are so pleased and willing to help a person out and love it when you show them any Turkish that you know. Yesterday on my way to work I say good morning- günaydın to an awkwardly large number of people, all of whom enthusiastically answered me back. I also asked the time- saat kaç, even though I was already wearing a watch, and once again I was met with nothing but enthusiasm.

Last weekend, Sean was with me here in Istanbul and we spent almost both Saturday and Sunday exploring the city and snapped some
Breakfast of ChampionsBreakfast of ChampionsBreakfast of Champions

Sean starting our trip from Barcelona to Istanbul in style
amazingly beautiful images. Sadly, he has left Istanbul for his own adventure in Southern Turkey, where he will be working on organic farms. His first stop- soap making, second- wine making, and last- olive oil, I'm hoping he returns in October with gifts.

I hope everyone's well. I miss you all and please keep in touch I love hearing from you and what you're doing.

Lots of love,
D


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sunset over the Golden HornSunset over the Golden Horn
Sunset over the Golden Horn

I'm don't think it gets any better than this.


13th August 2008

You are amazing!! I can't wait to hear what you'll be up to your next quarter century. The pictures are beautiful. We are so proud of you! Also, please work very, very hard to learn the language so you can be our tour guide and translator when we visit. Miss you....Love, Mom
13th August 2008

Wow!!
Everything looks great! I hope learning Turkish becomes a snap for you (which I think it will) and that your students appreciate you and learn all that they can. You amaze me gal! Love, Aunt Chris!

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb