Why can't people be like cars?


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
May 1st 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, before I get to how yesterday and today this has been on my mind the whole trip.

People just stop mid-step on the middle of the crowded sidewalk and open a freakin map!!! I mean, honestly pull over where not everyone is trying to go and check it there!!! What's wrong w/ people, when your driving do you just stop your car on the highway to check where you are going, no, so people please observe the same rules of the road and I assure there would be peace in the Middle East!!!

Ok, now don't get me wrong I'm having the time of my life (isn't that an Hall & Oats song or something) but I had to get that out of my system. Now saying that I can go on the ongoing details of my Turkish excursion.

So, the driver picked me up w/ a guide. His name is Fuat and was 27, funny guy loved talking about women and then occasionally the history of where we were going... To keep my head from exploding from thought I will only name the places i have been to if I can think of them since I have been to so many palaces and mosques it would make sane person's head spin. We checked out the Spice Bazaar that was up my alley as I love to cook so I picked up some spices, they had everything, saffron, curry, paprika, meat rubs, fresh teas, etc.. Next we took a ferry over to the Asian side of Turkey and saw some palaces walked around what not, it was pretty cool stuff I must say. Then we had lunch at a cafe where we had some good kabobs and a lentil soup. I also tried their yogurt drink which is nothing more then plain yogurt and water mixed... Hmm, not so good, but when in Rome...

After the tour was over I walked around and glanced by the Aye Sofia & Blue Mosque and then headed to my mom's friend's pizza parlor. After walking a couple circles around the place and perfecting my Turkish by asking numerous people how to find the place I got there. The guy did remember my mom saving us from having an ackward moment like him thinking that he fostered a kid he didn't know about or something like that...

He then made me a pizza and a drink and talked for awhile. Upon leaving he gave me his card and to call him if I had any questions. Was a good guy, maybe if I end up in the drunk tank he will bail me out? hehe, just kidding!!

Afterwards, I took a small nap then foraged for food in which the hotel porter showed me to a great kabab place and I talked to some British fellows for about 2 hours. Afterwards, I was beat and decided to crash.

Next day, I have another trip planned and I get my same "Turkish Casanova" guide and due to there being a day that people protest (it happens every May 1) he decided to change up the tour and take to his favorite local places. As we left I did see a hundred strong police with riot shields heading toward Golata Bridge. So, good we evaded that, although I always want to be the crazy guy they show on BBC with the molotov cocktail throwing it at the police and then getting taking away to the paddy wagon. Maybe next time...

We went to this really cool cafe that overlooked the river called the Golden Horn (because it looks like a horn, dummy!) and had a Turkish coffee, the view was seriously the coolest view I have every seen. The place was called after a French dude, Pierre Loti. Just in case someone wants to know.

We then walked around several obscure neighborhoods, a roman castle, a fish market, another cafe for lunch and then checked out the Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, and Aye Sofia. Toptoki Palace was ridicously full so we avoided it.

Today, I will do some shopping at the Grand Bazaar and the head out to have some Negileh (hookah, aka water pipe) and try some raki, which is like their form of ouzo. It is very strong stuff, so I will be taking it easy on that for sure.

Tomorrow is Troy, relaxation and visiting Josh's brewmaster friend at his pub for drinks. Then back to reality where unfortunately I will have to know what day it is, drive myself around town and put my self back on a self-imposed curfew during the week... 😞

Anyways, I will probably write one more time, thanks for everyone's comments and messages, it gives me a little piece of home which is nice. 😊

goolay goolay (goodbye)

Mike

Advertisement



1st May 2008

Woah!
I had a dream the other night that you were telling me about a turkish pizza place, and lo and behold you went to one! Scary!
1st May 2008

we have definately missed you buddy! but just so ya know .... we had bowling covered and i bowled a 700 in yo place :-) enjoy whats left of your trip!!!! d

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb