FOOD!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here are a few glimpses of some of the tasty things İstanbul has to offer. Unfortunately, I've usually been too distracted to grab my camera when I find a table full of fantastic food in front of me. The video is of Rezan reading my coffee grounds. The sludgy residue left behind after a cup of Turkish coffee can tell things about one's future. Nearly everybody approaches this as fun nonsense, but supposedly some people actually pay ridiculous amounts of money to have their grounds read. Apparently, I should expect zombies to play some part in my future...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

hamsihamsi
hamsi

It's the season for surprisingly tasty hamsi (anchovies) from the Karadeniz (Black Sea). I've tried them fresh on salad, deep fried like in this picture, and pan fried without batter - they're all good...
döner + ayrandöner + ayran
döner + ayran

1 YTL for a döner (sandwhıch) and an ayran (yogurty drınk) - I love cheap street food!
SimitSimit
Simit

I love me a crispy fresh simit covered in sesame seeds. Yum, yum, yum. This simitçi has a great location next to the south end of the busy Galata Bridge, where there is always lots of activity.


10th February 2008

yummy
hey all of this really looks delicious! we're about to visit Istanbul in April and simply cannot wait! what would you recommend in terms of food? many thanks Jussy x
11th February 2008

food in 0stanbul in April...
In my opinion, you really can't go wrong eating in 0stanbul. Like anywhere, look for places that are buzzing with locals and then join the crowd. If you have any dietary restrictions, you'd be wise to practice the necessary vocabulary ahead of time - for example: "etsiz yemek istiyorum" (I want food without meat). If you'll be staying in Beyolu, which I'd recommend over Sultanahmet (assuming you're doing a traditional sort of holiday trip), you'll find great food everywhere you look. Some personal favorites include a sunset dinner on the Galata Bridge, a rooftop meal in Eminönü (in between the Rüstüm Pa_a Camii and the Spice Bazaar), lunch tucked away in some corner of Kad1köy (great place for an afternoon wander), and fresh fruit juice at Bambi Cafe (where 0stiklal Caddesi meets Taksim Square, by the old church). I'm sorry I don't have more specific restaurant names to provide, but I'm sure you'll do fine. Afiyet olsun! (Bon Apetit!)
12th February 2008

thanks
thanks a lot, this does help! :) xx

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb