Good morning Istaaaaanbul


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
April 26th 2007
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Julien and I in TaksimJulien and I in TaksimJulien and I in Taksim

Sunny but veeery windy, and cold!
I'm back in Istanbul and have enjoyed seeing Julien again, after what, 3 years?

He managed to come for business ( from GL Geneva to visit Turkish clients) at the same period I was around.
Day was about visiting Istanbul together. I showed him Sultanahmet area, with the gorgeous Blue Mosq and Enormous Ayia Sophia, getting in the blue mosq while prayer time was about.
This all was followed by an Efes beer in Ortaköy area, then dinner at a not so good but still as always very friendly restaurant, where we had chicken schnitzel ( weird huh?) and a good bottle of red wine.

Little story here: not all restaurant serve alcoholic beverages, so our mission that evening was to find restaurant that do serve some.
First question before even entering at 11pm:
- do you serve wine, sir?
- yes, we do
- ok good, let's get in

After opening the good holy bottle and taking a sip, we finally try and give our food order to the waiter only to hear him say:
- oh, but the kitchen is closed
- huh????
- we only have salads or chicken schnitzel left.
- ok, any
Affiches at TaksimAffiches at TaksimAffiches at Taksim

A way to definitely get the message!
food is good. Chicken schnitzel it is.

After, the restaurant by the bosphore canal, we get to Lucas's bar, a very trendy place, where I managed to get one of their very nice ashtray for free. People are so nice, I'm telling you.
And yes, I cannnot get rid of all my terrible habit, at least this one I did not stole haha.

Margharita and caipirinhas on the menu.

Julien, it was fun, and very cool to see you in Istanbul. You introduced me to cool people, such as Umit, our turkish colleague, and Füsen, a very nice girl, client of GL.

I'm sure you won't see Istanbul the same way again anymore.

See you when I get back.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

In front of Agia SophiaIn front of Agia Sophia
In front of Agia Sophia

Right after getting insıde the Blue Mosq. It was freezing cold.
The TaksiThe Taksi
The Taksi

Tried to rip us off, we did looked like lost tourist there but still was unacceptable. He fınally agreed on the price we offered.
THE ashtrayTHE ashtray
THE ashtray

Julien, do not forget to keep it until I come back or give it to Imane next time you are in Paris for GL. :)
The waiter just turned 21 that dayThe waiter just turned 21 that day
The waiter just turned 21 that day

He was the nicest, giving me the ashtray, then changing back my drink that was too strong, even if I didn't say anything. Alright, he might have seen the look on my face after the first sip. :) Anyway, if you are looking for a trendy bar in Istanbul, where the young generation and above goes out on a thursday night, Lucca is the place.
Kanyon shopping mallKanyon shopping mall
Kanyon shopping mall

That's me in the bathroom of a gorgeous restaurant in the Phenomenal Kanyon shopping mall. You go through a security check before gettıng insıde the very secluded shopping center. Only the best go. I was surrounded wıth men ın suıts, woman ın heals and couture outfits. And me, wearing flip-flop and a lıttle bagpack. Now, that was funny.
Moelleux au chocolaaaatMoelleux au chocolaaaat
Moelleux au chocolaaaat

I've been craving chocolates ever since I left Europe, I don't know why and how it all started but I do. Keep a snickers bar in my pockets at all time. This was a perfect Moelleux au chocolat still at the same place ... the bathroom and all. Hummm! Haha Alrıght, transition is not my thing haha.
Kanyon mallKanyon mall
Kanyon mall

Doesn't it feel like I am in Dubai already??


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb