Non-ANZAC does ANZAC Day at Gallipoli


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Gallipoli
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I may have felt like a carrot in a cheese factory but ANZAC Day was pretty amazing. I also wore a green toque and have an orange sleeping bag - if that's not like a carrot I don't know what is.

To all you that are not Aussie or Kiwi I will explain a little. Australian and New Zealand Army Corps is what ANZAC stands for. They were soliders that fought in the war at Gallipoli, in Turkey. You may have seen the movie with Mel Gibson. Well, we were there for April 25 the 92nd anniversary of the day it was over. It's similar to Remembrance Day.

We spent the night in sleeping bags on the grass listening to stories, war movies, speeches, and such. Every once in awhile there was a break so we could nap. Everyone layered up like mad. It wasn't exactly warm there in April, and we were right above the beach. Being Canadian I wasn't cold - I wore my toque and thick socks and snuggled down in my MEC sleeping bag and no worries. Luckily there was no rain. We were awoken at around 4:30am for the Dawn Service. They had speeches and played the national anthems of all three countries and flew the flags high. The last post was played as well. I know what I feel like at Remembrance Day so I can just imagine the patriotism felt by the thousands of people there. Singing the national anthem with other people makes the toughest of people get a little teary.

After the service was over we threw our stuff on the bus and walked up to the next service. Everyone splits up to go to the service specifically for their country. Being a Non-ANZAC I just tagged along. We went to the Aussie service first. It was the same sort of thing but at the Australian graveyard and monument at Lone Pine and was geared towards Australians. Flag raising, last post, anthem etc. I have never seen so many Aussies in one place.

After we continued up the hill passing by the Turkish service. Theirs was much more elaborate than the others - could be that it is their country. Gun salutes and more.

Up hill more to the New Zealand service located at Chunuk Bair. It was at the top of the hill and the last one of the day. The same thing again but for Kiwis.

It's kind of funny, I brought a few books with me (as those who know me know I read way too much) one of them I bought in November and never read. It's called Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres. I read a few pages here and there but for the most part I was too busy travelling. During the services I realized just what the book was about. It had characters from the war in it. Historical fiction about Mustafa Kemal who had a great part in the battles at Gallipoli. It's about Greeks and Turks and the war. So I was at the service that celebrates what the book is about. How weird is that. I still haven't finished the book but now it seems a little more real.
ANZAC day celebrates the fact that the three countries are now friends - and the book talks about their friendships even in the middle of battles. It's fiction but their is truth to every story.

After the last service we waited on the road for the bus to pick us up. It's a one
GallipoliGallipoliGallipoli

Setting up camp on our patch of grass
way road to the top of the hill, if you miss the bus you have to wait at least another half hour for the bus to come all the way around again. Luckily we all made it in the first go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

GallipoliGallipoli
Gallipoli

Kobi, Andrea and Ryan the giant
GallipoliGallipoli
Gallipoli

The three flags at sunset
GallipoliGallipoli
Gallipoli

Sarah and Dani at night. You look good!
GallipoliGallipoli
Gallipoli

Australian service
GallipoliGallipoli
Gallipoli

Turkish service


Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb