Today I left Edirne


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Edirne
May 15th 2008
Published: May 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

May 15, 2008 Edirne to Luleburgez
This morning we had breakfast with our Edirne families and then boarded a bus to Luleburgez. It was only about a 45 minute ride. We were greeted by the GSE coordinator and the men of our new host families at a hotel located in the middle of the city.
My host family is WONDERFUL and their house is AMAZING! Huso and Gulten are the parents of three beautiful girls: Selin, Birsu, and Seren.

The high school that we visited today was for students that scored high on their exam in the 8th grade. 94% of the students that attend this school will attend and graduate from a university. Rotary sponsored an E grant which provided the school with 25 LCD projectors, computers and screens.

A few facts about Luleburgez:
• Before the Ottoman empire people stayed here when they were on their way to Europe (they stayed in Luleburgez, Edirne and then in Europe.
• The Luleburgez mosques was built before the Silimiye mosque, so they resemble each other.
• Since the 70’s the area has gotten more industrial.
• Population 25,000. It is estimated that by 2020 it will be over 100,000
• They are in the process of making super fast train that goes from Istanbul to Edirne, so people can work in Istanbul and live in neighboring cities.
• There are over 600 factories

I was showing my host family some pictures. One of them was of me at a Mardi Gras ball. They asked what that was around my neck. I explained it to them and then gave each of them a pair of beads. The girls loved it!!!!!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

TycoTyco
Tyco

Laurie's host father. Today he took me to the eye doctor and I have pink eye. He owns a glasses store, so he is having some perscription sunglasses made for me.
My familyMy family
My family

They have thier beads on.


16th May 2008

hi
I'm so glad you are enjoying your new host family. You look really happy. I can't believe you have pink eye and had to go to the doctor in a foreign country. Hopefully you will be better soon. The Mardi Gras bead story was great. cute picture! I am reading your posts to Brooke and told her where you are. She said, "But Mommy, Sarah lives in Louisanna." I am going to show her on a map where Turkey is now. Have a great day. We are headed to gymnastics.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb