Residence Permit in Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Selçuk
August 18th 2010
Published: August 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've been here a week now and in one more week I will be the proud owner of a 2 year residence permit. I am almost afraid to say it, but it was easy. Partly because I am American and partly because I had a lot of cash in my bank account. I think.

I looked on the Internet at multiple websites trying to find out what I needed to do first to get my permit. I found a lot of information, but nothing that told me step-by-step what I needed to do. So I am going to write it here in hopes that it will help someone else.

First, get a cell phone. I didn't and I had to put my friend's phone number on everything instead of mine. Not a bad thing, but not very convenient either.

Second, go to the tax office in the town where you will be living and get a tax ID number. It is free, easy, and only requires your passport and names of your parents. I have no idea why.

Third, open a bank account. You will need the tax ID number and passport for this and you will be asked to show how much money you have when applying for your residence permit. It must be in a Turkish bank account.

Fourth, I had to get a letter of invitation from my friend here since I was not staying in a hotel, but when I applied they told me I didn't need it. It costs 25 TL and took a few minutes since there was no proper form and the woman didn't really know what we needed.

Fifth, get five photos made slightly larger than passport size. Online everything I read said FOUR passport size photos. Nope. You need five and they need to be slightly larger than passport size or you'll have to do what I did and go around the corner and have more made when your face is all broken out and you're hot and sweaty. Great.

Six, go to the bank and take out about 1500 TL. You might not need that much and I didn't think I would either, but when he said I could get a 2 year permit, I had to pay 1321 TL for the permit and 100+ TL for the small book with my lovely photo in it.

Seven, go to the foreigner's department of the local police office. If they don't have one they should be able to tell you where the closest one is. For example, I live in Selçuk but the closest office is in İzmir. Get the application (2 pages) and fill it out and get back in line. Hold your place and don't back down! Give all paperwork to them along with your passport.

Before I left the office I knew I would be getting a two year visa. They will tell you because the length of the visa determines how much you will pay. I cannot find anything online that tells the rates for the visas. For all I know I got totally ripped off and paid that guy's mortgage this month. They told me to come back next week and pick it up but I don't think it is that easy for everyone.

Enis and I went to an office here in Selçuk to find out exactly what I needed before applying. I don't know the name of the office. The guy said it would be easy for me because Turkey doesn't make problems for Americans. America makes problems for Turkey. I would have to agree with that.

I hope this helps someone.

Today is 7 Sept 2012 and I want to post an update to this entry in hopes of further helping anyone who might be considering moving to Turkey, especially if you are moving there because you believe someone there loves you and you want to be with that person. I read on many websites that it is best to get your residence permit as soon as possible rather than waiting until your 90 day tourist visa is finished. This rush is not necessary and I was told that by the people who issue the permits in Izmir. I encourage you to wait at least 60 days before you decide whether or not to get a residence permit. Your life there and the reason you came there may not be what they seem. See my entry 'One Year in Turkey' to understand what I mean. If I had waited 60 days, I would have left Turkey, because the person I went to Turkey to be with was a very different person than the one I lived with when I got there.

Advertisement



2nd October 2010

Hey
C'mon already. Understand that you're not travelling so much, but wanna hear what life in Turkey is like.... Tell more....... Hope you're well, Mary. Really do.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb