Selcuk/Ephesus


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Selçuk
October 29th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another 7hr bus trip from Canakkele to Secuk - they seem to be getting easier. We got in just after dark so I found my hostel - Aust & NZ hostel, checked in, had food then chatted with the others. It’s quite nice here, a roof terrace (where dinner is served) that looks over the town, a downstairs courtyard full of long seats and plenty of cushions and even a huge inside tv/movie room. That was me on the first night, hung out with York from Germany, Hamish from Canada and Mark from London.

An absolutely gorgeous day today so up for breaky then Harry (the manager) drives 5 of us into Ephesus. What an amazing place. Just to walk down the former main street and look into the remains of the Temple of Hadrian, and the fountain of Trajan and even go into Marble way (the houses of the rich that even had their own church inside) but the best for me were Library of Celsus (the second oldest library in the world) and the Great theatre, which could hold up to 30,000 people and was built 117AD!

After Ephesus nothing else really compares. I went to St Johns Basilica for photos, then headed into town. What a magical night. While I was photographing in town I met so many locals, all wanting me to take their photos. I passed by the Double Knot carpet shop first and was invited in for tea by Behzat but declined and said I’ll be back after photos. So I continued on my way until the sun went down then headed back to Double Knot. We just hung outside the shop on the seats, they organized the best Pide for me for dinner then we got some wine and I even streamed my favourite radio station - bondi fm, through their computer - what a great night.

The next day I hung locally, I was meant to be on the 2pm bus to Bodrum but changed it to tomorrow. This is a really lovely town to chill out in. I went back to Double Know in the afternoon and even got the story on carpets and of course the one I liked the most was $1200 - but don’t worry, I didn’t buy it. Behzat and I went out for dinner - Our House, was lovely. A cute courtyard and the food was divine. I got home just before the storm started too. Thunder and lightning and heavy rain that lasted about 1 hour and later I learned it was the first rain they’d had since the beginning of summer.

Again I was meant to be on the 2pm bus to Bodrum but again I changed it coz today I’m heading to Sirense. It’s a beautiful little wine village up in the mountains and wow - what a magical spot. Little steep alleys, heaps of wine sellers, wonderful little restaurants all serving great meals. I checked into the Sirense Pension and got the best room. A balcony looking out over the village, a huge room with ensuite and a massive open fireplace stacked with wood. So off to get some wine and food then settle in front of the fireplace - just perfect.

Breakfast was served in my room and it blew my mind. A huge tray filled with cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, hard boiled eggs, fresh baked bread, homemade jams and honey and of course tea…just the best!

The next day I got on the 2pm bus to Bodrum. It took ages to say goodbye to all my new friends and I was a little sad to be leaving this gorgeous town, but, Bodrum awaits.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb