Mothers Day with the Turks


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Kusadasi
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday we awoke in Kusadasi Turkey (Tour-Key-Ay we were corrected). The first half of the day was spent at the ancient ruins of Ephesus, parts of which are believed to date back to 1300 years BC. I took lots of pictures. After the tour we went to town for a demonstration of the construction of hand made rugs. They are gorgeous and some of them represent an entire years work by up to three young ladies. The Turks are very hospitable. Every store we entered, the proprietor tried to give us food and drink. They are also very pushy salesmen! I thought it was bad in Tijuana but these guys make the TJ shop owners look passive. I mean, they just do not take no for an answer! So... I let them sell me a leather jacket, a pair of ear rings for Julie and a Periodot pendant for my mother at what I thought were fair prices. They even tailored the jacket for me while I waited. I don't know that I'd look forward to visiting again but nice 3 bed and 2 bath beach front condos can be had for $100k. If Turkey joins the European Union, I bet they'd tripple in value pretty quickly!
--
Nick

Advertisement



Tot: 0.627s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.3579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb