Protests in Damascus


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
March 29th 2011
Published: March 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

ProtestersProtestersProtesters

This photo was taken outside from my hotel window
******** Update: The day was amazing the people were incredibly nice, the city is safe and I'm off to bed I will try to actually write a real post tomorrow assuming my next hotel has Internet access.

******************

This is going to be a very brief post as I am about to go out for breakfast. Currently there are tens of thousands of pro government protesters fairly close to our hotel. At the moment we feel quite safe as the general vibe is very happy with music, and chanting we can hear in our hotel rooms even with the windows closed. There is a certain excitement in the air and it is contagous.

As I type this the corwds seem to be getting louder we will definetly have to be street smart when we go out for breakfast but common sense to avoid the crowds, and not to take pictures or get in the way of the military will keep us safe.

I will update a longer update sometime tonight. to catch up on my last day in Madaba, the crossing of the syrian border and our faboulous dinner last night in old town damascus.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb