Last days in Syria


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
May 7th 2010
Published: May 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Only a few days left in Syria. I've just been wandering in circles again, doing nuffink usefull at all. And that was fine :-)
I took some pictures of a few kids the other day. Whereas in Europe a large bearded man photographing kids get chased by the police, in the Middle East everyone just enjoys the attention. After a few shots all the brothers and sisters were drummed up to have their photo taken, and before you know it you are surrounded by a screaming mass of children. The problem is not being allowed to photograph, it is being allowed to STOP photographing. Tears flowed as some thought there were not enough pictures of them, or they couldn't see properly... 8 pairs of tiny hands grabbing at my camera, run Forest run! It was all in good fun though, got some nice shots.
I also spent an evening photographing the alleys and small religous shrines in the Christian Quarter. There's lots of them dotted about the place, I think I only saw a fraction so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bus engineBus engine
Bus engine

Ooohhh... Moving bits and pieces!
CrybabyCrybaby
Crybaby

Poor thing had had enough of all the shouting and screaming as well...
The airThe air
The air

Has been conditioned
Cleaning MeccaCleaning Mecca
Cleaning Mecca

Even Mecca needs a little dusting off now and then
Mary 4Mary 4
Mary 4

Ok, so that could actually be Jezus.... But it could have been Mary, really.


10th May 2010

Mary
Hoi Ton, Mary 1, 3, 5 and 6 are blue and white, according to my dad they could not be Mary, but they are called Smurfin. Greetings, Nico
11th May 2010

Hi Ton When I began to read your blog I felt how unlucky I am not being able to visit Siriya. (Well I imaging I can go in but not out...).Anyhow you convinced me not to be sorry. Desert and sand, sand and desert is like home so I donwt miss much. By See you Anat
11th May 2010

It's not just sand...
Really, is there that much desert and sand in the blog? I thought I saw a lot more than that :-)
11th May 2010

I think smurfs are smaller
But the resemblance is uncanny :-)

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb