Damascus!


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
May 2nd 2010
Published: May 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Damascus! At last!
I took the mountain and rural roads through al Ghab to get to Hama and on to Damascus, a route I highly recommend (goint to Latakia and onto the highway is faster, but the mountains are great). Found my hotel without too much trouble, hauled my bike into the hall of the hotel and went out into the city a straight away.
It takes some getting used to after the relaxed pace of Aleppo, and the friends I made there. Damascus is larger and more anonymous, I feel it has also changed since I was last here.
So far I've been looking around a bit for old cameras (don't bother, anything of interest I found I could buy on eBay for a fraction of the asing price in Damascus), real Damascus steel (more on this later), visited Omayad Mosque (always a haven of peace for the weary traveller) and the Arabic Caligraphy museum; and once again just wanderred around the old city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hotel across the road from mineHotel across the road from mine
Hotel across the road from mine

I kow there's nothing to see but green bars, use your imagination
In Omayad Mosque courtyardIn Omayad Mosque courtyard
In Omayad Mosque courtyard

Not quite sure what it is, but pretty init?


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb