Just in Syria


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
December 14th 2009
Published: December 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all - turn off now if not interested
Not that I want to complain but after the civilisation of Beirut Damascus is a dump. I thought I would try the oldest city
in the world for a couple of days but the place really drives me mad. It is a very conservative society - almost all the women are covered and you just cannot look for long because it is offensive. I booked a hotel in the old town and I thought this would be where the action was so to speak. Well its not! Once you seen a souk and several mosques ...well thats it for Damascus. Griped - there is just nowhere you can sit and have a coffee and read etc. If you do get a coffee its always a powered nescafe and the milk I'm sure is camels milk!! I bought a local SIM for my phone and they have to take a copy of your passport AND a thumbprint. I thought about complaining to the local constabulary about infringement of my human rights but then again....
The Umayed mosque is the jewel in the crown of Damascus its huge and is pretty good really but
Damascus SouukDamascus SouukDamascus Souuk

Note the holes in the roof caused by French aircraft fire in the 30's.
its a major pilgrimage place for Shiites - mainly Iranian. They are head to toe in black and slightly eerie. There were hundreds of them mainly women shoaling in large groups. The really nice bit though is next to the mosque is the shrine of Saladin. I went in and was the only one there. He died at 56 and conquered the Crusaders thus establishing a Muslim dynasty - I've not managed to conqure my own back garden yet!
I read somewhere that 35% of the Syrian population is under 15 - well I know where they all are....they were playing football outside the hotel earlier!
Off to Palmyra tomorrow and then the following day Crac des Chavalier - said my Lawrence of Arabia to be the loveliest castle in the world. Well if its good enough for him.....

Richard

PS - To get a drink you have to go to the Christian quater of the city to eat - most restaurants do not serve alcohol. I got a taxi there last night and it cost me 100 Syrian pounds - I got one back and it cost me 16 pounds. Now if anyone sees that first taxi driver.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb