No more journals after this one. (A silly title now that there's another journal after this one.)


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel
June 2nd 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi from Jerusalem.
True to this post's title I don't think I'm going to write any more of these. A few reasons: first, my camera has apparently been stolen, so I can't upload any pictures. And I feel liberated enough by the loss that I'm not going to buy a new one. More importantly I've found this process increasingly artificial and rather than get into even more sophistic musings I figure I'll just stop. Finally, though I've been, perhaps, less than politically correct in this forum before, the intention was never to use this space politically, I sort of abhor that kind of dialogue taking place on the Internet, and recent events have eliminated the possibility of my writing a politically balanced post. And the only thing I can see coming from my writing a detailed journal here is alienating a number I people I care about and disagree with. I don't want to do that. I've spent the last month travelling in Israel, this week mostly (and I'm going back tomorrow) in the Palestinian territories, in the West Bank. I move into my apartment here in Jerusalem on Sunday, where my number will be (dialing from Canada or the US) 011-972-77-3001778. If you get voicemail, know that you can in fact leave a message in spite of the apparently wonky and foreign greeting message (my roommate's; it goes to her cellphone). The study program Í'm doing here goes till the end of July, at which point I might return home. Unless I go to Paris. If a rumour I heard proves true, I will go to Paris. If not, I will come home. I do not plan to join an army.

Thanks for reading stuff.

Daniel



Advertisement



7th June 2006

catchin' up, skwarna-style
Hey Daniel, I just read your last two entries, which I'd been meaning to do for a while. Referring to the second-last one, I liked how you tied what you had learned/discovered with what you had observed. So, it seems you have changed, but not because of the travel, but rather your clarity of thought. Travel doesn't change you, you change you, maybe? I don't know if that makes cents (or dollars) but it's great to read what you're doing and thinking. I hope you're having a good time in Israel - it's a shame about your camera, the pictures you took were really sweet. Good luck with your play. xo, Naomi

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb