Mediterranean Delights - entry 4


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel
November 5th 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

You scream, I scream, we all scream for hummus, kabobs and falafel! Rivka (Drora's sister) hosted us for two unforgettable meals, including Hamin. It's a slow cooked dish of meat wrapped in cabbage, vegetables and rice wrapped in grape leaves, hard boiled eggs, zucchini...you name it! It's my favorite and takes a lot of effort to make as each bite size piece is hand wrapped. So, big thanks to Rivka! One thing I did not know before going to Israel is how much hummus is consumed on a daily basis. Outside of breakfast, it is served for every snack and meal throughout the day. We had delicious hummus in various places but my favorite was at and Arab town called Abu-Gosh. We feasted on platters of grilled meats, seafood and lots of vegetables.

Another big observation is the side items of veggies, olives, cabbage, onions, tomato/cucumber salad you get when you sit down. Falafel is made fresh on the spot and does not sit for long before being served. Two of the best places I really enjoyed for falafel were Shalom Falafel in Jerusalem with Motti and Itay's cousin's falafel stand in Haifa - yum!

The cheese and yogurt
Abu Gosh dinnerAbu Gosh dinnerAbu Gosh dinner

This was only the spread before the main meal!
spread is unbelievable. Tsila, Matti's sister, lives in Kibbutz Gan Shmuel where she is in charge of making cheeses. She brought over a variety of her delights and nothing beats super fresh cheese for breakfast. Yogurt variety is also great. Yogurt shops are a common sight in big cities.

Bread and pastries are served super fresh, just like Europe. The owner of this house we rented in Jerusalem brought over some fresh Rugelach Rugelach as a treat for our morning coffee. Let me tell you that in Chicago I go to Tel Aviv bakery to get my Rugelach ever since I had Drora's years ago and couldn't have my coffee without it. When I tasted this Rugelach in Jerusalem, I knew I could never have the Rugelach I have eaten for the last few years in Chicago. I will miss the fresh pastries 😞


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

KarabKarab
Karab

All its seeds are the same weight and that's where the measurement Karat for gold comes from.
Breakfast spread Breakfast spread
Breakfast spread

At our hotel in Zichron (hilltown near Haifa)


7th November 2009

Yummilicious!
Thanks for taking me on this memorable journey!! Man, the food looks awesome, I'm hungry! ;-)

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb