Dead Sea and Schools Out!


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » West Bank
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

 From above north of Nablus From above north of Nablus From above north of Nablus

Me (Ahmed Jamous in background)
Getting ready to leave Nablus and into the big, wide unknown my computer keeps telling me that the startup disc is full, whatever that means. I guess I'll have to figure out how to use the external hard drive I've been carrying around now. Today we finished off the last day of summer school with a water fight with our school's 200 darling Palestinian kids. The intended festivities quickly deteriorated into mass chaos and a stampede in which one kid fell over, hit his head on the stairs splitting it open and requiring 15 stitches. This was a sad continuation of the violent events of last night's evening class when a 12 year-old boy, claiming that the 9-year old across from him had "insulted his family", flew across two other students and put the kid in strangle hold. Yikes!
So, now I am decided what's next. There are a few ideas in the bag: brief visit to Jordan on the way to Egypt to interview at a couple of schools in Alexandria and Cairo. Follow up on job offer for school year in Kazakhstan. Finally submit my application for graduate school in Puerto Rico so I can be a "real" teacher
Dead SeaDead SeaDead Sea

looking from Ein Gedi over to Jordan
some day. Lastly, going to Portland to drink coffee/cook elaborate meals for a while is also on the plate. A move away from my Mediterranean/Caribbean vision and a less financially motivated plan, but enticing nonetheless.
It's been an awesome, weird, wonderful 7 weeks in Nablus. I've been able to visit lots of nearby places and am planning more side trips in the next work-free week here in a quiet house. When my technology issue is resolved I'll be able to post pictures of the Samaritan village and the ancient ruins there and some pics from school. For now check out my weekend at the Dead Sea 3 weeks ago! I learned the meaning of "hot" in Ein Gedi. Agony! I can't believe I am actually planning to go to Petra next week (desert ruins in Jordan- known for extreme summer temperatures)!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Mountains at Dead SeaMountains at Dead Sea
Mountains at Dead Sea

Sun buuuuuurn, hello.


23rd July 2009

yikes...
....it looks really hot there! I tried to call your mobile yesterday but got some automated message saying the number was out of service. So you may come to Portland for a spell? Love, Dad
23rd July 2009

decisions, decisions
While I would selfishly like to see you back in Portland, I really hope you continue your international adventures so I can enjoy them vicariously.
23rd July 2009

Good to hear from you
Thanks for updating me on your doings. Sounds as usual that you have lots of good ideas and future plans. Stay cool, safe and have fun on your next trip. Stephanie
26th July 2009

doughnuts
my dear kim, it has been too long since I have written but life in portland got a little crazy after an underemployed lull cause I got three jobs (non-profit admin work, farmers market and lauro restaurant )and sometimes four (catering) and then i went out of town on a leisurely sun filled vacation. just days before my vacation i had the most amazing dream about you. we were sitting at a low coffee table on cushions with a huge tray of doughnuts in front of us and taking bites of each one. i woke up just after you were describing to me about a jelly filled one with an incredible texture. i woke up laughing and in such a good mood, so thanks. i love you lots and i enjoy hearing your updates. keep in touch. sabrina
26th September 2009

Hi!
Great blog!! If you like, come back and visit mine: albumdeestampillas blogspot com Thanks, Pablo from Argentina

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb