Axis Mundi


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » West Bank » Jericho
March 29th 2012
Published: March 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

22 March 14:30 local
Note: I am transcribing a paper and pen entry written in Jericho I am sitting now under some palm trees next to the ruins of the ancient city of Jericho and the foot of the tram to the mount of temptation. Today has been a very good day: woke up on time and met my guide. We picked up six other people and went to the mount of Olives. This was a wonderful experience. The old city is such that it is really hard to appreciate distance. From above, it becomes far more clear. Very special place. From there, we went to Masada. It is bigger than I would have imagined. I was by myself at the extreme northern palace with the dead sea plain and mountains unfolded a thousand feet below. Very cool. The ruins themselves are like every other Roman ruin sight. I walked down the mountain- much harder than it seems. From there, we went to Qumran- the sight of the Dead Sea Scrolls sect. Small, but well done: some minor ruins and a little museum. Next, we went to the dead sea. It is not as different from regular water as I was led to believe. You just can't sink. I really enjoyed myself. The water stings like crazy in your eye- I got a tiny splash from a wave. But I closed my eyes and 90 seconds or so later was okay. The bottom reminded me of lake Ahkie: muddy, soft, slimy. I put some mud on my skin and rubbed it in. It did make my skin feel very smooth. I think my mom would like it a lot. This tour is almost over-then a night tour of the city of David-then home! The attendant pumps your gas for you in Jericho.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb