Leaving Hai Bar, Going to Lotan


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District
January 22nd 2010
Published: January 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

So there's not much news to tell this time, except that I'm moving. On sunday I go about 12 km up the road to Kibbutz Lotan to volunteer and work on their eco-campus. According to what I've been told, I'll be doing ecological mud-straw construction, organic gardening, and helping organize/lead educational groups. We'll see what it actually is like when I get there. But since I'm really interested in environmentally-friendly building and agriculture it should be awesome. I don't know if I'll have internet access, so there may or may not be an exciting new blog entry soon. if you're sick of checking the website all the time to see if there's a new one, you can "subscribe", and you'll get an e-mail when I publish a new entry. I think you can do it from my blog page: www.mytb.org/mshaw.

So I've really enjoyed me time at the Hai Bar. My flat-mates and I have really become a dysfunctional little family (there are now 5 of us living in something like a 45-square-foot apartment with one bathroom. Good thing we all like each other. I will miss my adventures at work, too. I butchered a frozen sheep (dead) for the carnivorous animals on Thursday, my last day. I might sound barbaric, but I figured if I'm willing to eat meat, I should be willing to hack it apart, too. And I wasn't going to be the one eating it. And it had died naturally anyway. But hey, go ahead and judge if you want, especially if you're a vegetarian.

Oh, one more thing. I guess the flooding here a few days ago made international news in some places. So if you were worried about me, don't be. We had to take a lot of animals out of their cages and there has been a lot of clean-up work after the fact. But all the people and animals I know are okay. It was beautiful to watch the wadis (stream-beds) fill though. I have some pretty sweet pictures. But yeah, that's what happens when it rains in the desert.

Advertisement



23rd January 2010

HELLO
Hi Maddy; Everytime we read your blog we are amazed at what you are experiencing. It will certainly make you quite wordly quicker. We are thrilled that you are having a great time in Israel. Experiencing Jewish life there is definitely different that in the U.S. We are fine in sunny Arizona!!! Ha, Ha, Ha.... its been raining here for days. Love and Kisses........Grandma Heni and Grandpa Dick
5th February 2010

haha, maddy. i hope the sheep was dead! seeing as i dont think it could be frozen and still alive... i'm working on writing you my life story. at least my life for the last 5 months. you'll probably get it in installations. i love that you are having the time of your life. miss you. Sam
12th March 2010

meat
On behalf of the vegetarians, I hereby deem this slaughter acceptable.

Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb