A Day in the Life...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
June 8th 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Shalom y'all!

I hope my post finds you all well and happy. I'm enjoying the end of the week here at work (finally acknowledging this starting on Sunday, ending on Thursday thing). This last Sunday, I definitely found myself thinking that I had a Case of the Mondays, only to be disappointed by the realization that it, in fact, was not Monday. In Israel, they call it the Depressing Sundays. Great...living in a mixed world of two "first days of the week." Haha, it's really not so bad. Just heat combined with a lack of sleep as a result of having entirely too much fun in my new home. Gotta love it.

Observation #1 (my Roma friends will really appreciate this one): Israeli taxi drivers can be equated exactly to the Roman umbrella men. They drive right up to the curb where you are walking, get as "in your face" as they can with the added aspect of a car, and they insistently honk at you. I sit at a bus stop, obviously taking the economic and practical form of transportation, and they STILL try to get me to take the taxi. Granted, most Israelis honk a minimum of 20 times a day (including the huge buses), probably a direct reflection of the loud and aggressive Israeli personality. Which my mom says I'm starting to exhibit. Scary, y'all...I'm becoming one of them. 😊

Observation #2: Israelis use a Scweegee (how in the hell do you spell that word?) for EVERYTHING. I have the obvious device for the bathroom because we lack a tub or a basin - it's just a shower head with a drain in the floor, very typical of the Middle East. Everyday after the shower, you go to town Scweegee-ing the floor dry. The second is a random Scweegee (I'm really starting to hate typing this word - it's much more fun to say) for our balcony. There is nowhere for the water to drain from the balcony, and there is a raised ledge on the edge, so you can't push the water off the side. Whatever. The best one can be found sitting on the kitchen sink. You do the dishes, you Scweegee the sink to remove all the food and coffee particles (we drink a ridiculous amount of coffee here...). Israelis - Scweegee-happy? Moves the chore of cleaning beyond the conventional broom and mop; these guys are always ahead of the game...

Observation #3...I hope I'm wrong about this...: I think I'm starting to smell like an Israeli. Don't get me wrong, most Israelis smell very, very good and clean, but you can't always be sweet-smelling and pretty because it is so hot here. There is a distinctive smell that probably comes from the amount of sweat a body in the desert produces, the rich yet healthy foods that are common here, and whatever else causes your body to smell. It's a rather unpleasant realization, but ya know...when in Rome...

On that final note, the traditional dress of Orthodox Jews and observant Muslims really baffles me. Being the indigenous people with a long long history in this area, I am amazed that they can survive in the heat. It's amazing what strong faith and observance can do for someone - I only wish I had half the will-power these people have. Eh, part of this probably stems from the fact that I'm a spoiled American who severely dislikes being uncomfortable. Thanks Mom and Dad! 😉

Got a new roommate yesterday. She is from New York - we're damn near the only Americans in Be'er Sheva. I really really enjoy her, and I see us forming a strong bond while dealing with similar difficulties (although she speaks fluent Hebrew and is very traditional). Our room is starting to look very full with pictures and decorations and life. Thank goodness for her! Two nights ago, I found myself sharing a drink with the two Yossi's from my birthright trip - a very happy mini-reunion! This weekend, the tall Yossi and I are venturing to Jerusalem to visit Tal and the Arkansas group who are here for an adult-type birthright trip. The medic from my trip, Itamar, is joining us Saturday night, too. I can't wait to be with these people again - so many wonderful friends I have over here! So, off I go to wrap up work and to pack for full weekend. Much love to my homies...or whatever.

Megs

Advertisement



11th June 2006

ILU!
hey girl, sounds like you are making some fine observations, hopefully you'll solve the riddle that is Israel soon! call me, or txt me or something! take care ---Erin
13th June 2006

hey remember that last night in rome when we were trying to get a taxi from emilio's and we finally got one to stop but right before we ran up to his car he pulled away? what a lame-o.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb