Oveview of the Ben-Gurion Overseas Student Program


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Be'er Sheva
August 27th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!!! First let me apologize for taking so very long to contact everyone and update you all on my 1st month in Israel. As most of you know, I will be spending my first semester of Junior year studying in Israel through the Ginsburg-Ingerman Overseas Student Program at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev. I will primarily be residing in Beer Sheva in the Negev desert. I have chosen this particular abroad program for many reasons and I am very fortunate that it appeals to a wide array of my academic interest. I am still a pre-medical student but also a political science major at Davidson with a particular interest in International Politics and Human Rights. I am very excited to study Middle Eastern Politics and particular Israeli foreign policy from an Israeli institution. I have study the background of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict as well as research much of the history and current events. I am intrigued as to the perspective that I will receive from Israeli professors and the viewpoint that the students here hold at BGU about the conflict, their country’s history, and today’s current events. Furthermore, BGU has an international medical school that partners with Columbia to encourage medical students to focus on international health particularly in third world countries. I am very interested in learn more about the medical program and to interact with some of the student while I am here to see if this program is of interest to me and I could possible be back in Israel sometime in the near future.

This program reminds me of Davidson in that BGU is the most community-oriented university in Israel and it encourages immersion into Israeli life and culture. All overseas students are required to live with other Israeli students. My situation is rather unique in that I was also given an American roommate by mistake. Currently, it is the summer session in Israeli but when the semester begins I will also have two Israeli roommates in my apartment. I am thrilled to find that the student body here is very active particularly with Darfur refugees and all students on my program are encouraged to volunteer and setup internships for the duration of the semester. I am hoping to work with a local medical clinic or to teach English to local Ethiopian immigrants.


Advertisement



3rd September 2007

Way to Go Girl!
Wow, how courageous u are! To go beyond your borders, seeking new people, new experience that will affirm your beliefs (the beauty of your faith-Love) challenge your firmness. Holdfast to your inner strenght that comes from Christ!!

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb