A good day


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District
March 13th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well the trip to Tiberias didn't happen...I got really lucky with fellow travellors .

Kathryn , a 32 year old from Scotland , and I had thought we would catch a sherut to Tiberious in time to do a city tour and then rent bicycles to tour around a bit of the Sea of Galilee . Our questimated departure time was 9am ...I slept in ... after yesterday's walk I quess my body needed the rest. While I was having my breakfast ( an excellant Arabic B'fast including an omelet!!!!) I met 2 gentlemen from the US . I figure they were in there 70's and heard they had been friend's since meeting at college in 1953 . Anyway they had rented a car for their 10-day stay in Israel and were going to drive to Capernaum and area for the day . I asked if we could get a ride with them to Capernum (it was Shabbat which makes it a bit difficult to get around ) and they very graciously said yes. I think they were very happy for the company . It is the first time they had travelled together without their wives and they sounded a little like the Odd Couple ...or Barney and Fred...and our input was appreciated .

The drive was a bit of a pilgrimage for us all . Capernum is a lovely spot . The archeology is impressive . The house of Peter 's mother in law has a lovely church built over it's remains. Nearby is a synogogue of the 4th century that was built over the synagogue of Jesus's time . Later we stopped at the church honouring the miracle of the loaves and fishes and the Church built at the presumed site of the Sermon of the Mount . It is too bad that the haze that has arrived with this heat wave made views of the Sea of Galilee limited because all of the sites would have remarkable views of the water. We had a lunch of fresh grilled fish (perch I think) that was great.

We ended up staying the whole day with Dan and Andy and returning with them to Nazareth.

That evening I went to a candle light procession at the Basilica of the Annunciation and I was moved by the celebration. .100's of people were there signing and praying in Italian , Polish and German . The procession began at second level of the church and made it's way down the street to the main level . It is quite lovely .

In all a very interesting day /

This morning I moved slowly and moved on to Haifa . I reallly did enjoy my time in Nazareth /Haifa is VERY different and that is fine . Today I explored a little of the port area and the German colony begun in the late 1800's .Tomorrow I will explore Acre , a Roman port and look forward to that ... I'll also check out the Israel's train system .

Internet here cost 5nis so I will not use it much!




Advertisement



14th March 2010

What a wonderful trip that must have been with those 2 gentlemen. Pam you are such a resourceful woman. Lynn
14th March 2010

Way to improvise - sleep in and it still works out!!!
16th March 2010

Green with Envy!
I have been doing some travelling myself - to North Battleford and Moose Jaw with my friend Vicki, a United Church minister from Toronto. We had a ball visiting old friends; more laughs than I have had for awhile. A good interlude as Budget DAy is March 24 and it will not be happy-making for many people. Read the LP online on March 25 for the highlights/lowlights as you see them. Petra - it sounds as though it was as wonderful as I imagined! Thank you for letting me live vicariously through your experiences! Joy

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb