Arriving in Israel


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District » Nazareth
March 10th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

...and Voila I am in Israel .

I must say that I am very pleased that I was able to use a bus to travel here . The Trust company has a service that worked well for me . Two 1/2 hours to the border crossing at the Jordan River /Sheik Hussein crossing , exit Jordan ( luggage xray and passport control ) and another bus drove me and my luggage the 2 km to the Israelie border . Again through luggage xray ,passport control and out the other side where a taxi was waiting to drive me to Nazareth . All this in @ 4 hours for 30JD $65-70Can. Not bad .

Again I am struck by the contrasts . On the ride into Nazareth (45 minutes) looking around at the lush fields , orchards and 21st century buildings with steep ceilings I felt like I was arriving at the familiar.

More later.

Advertisement



10th March 2010

Glad it went well
So, it sounds like things ae not as TERRIBLE in that region as many would have us believe. I guess it is like here. We see very few drug runners. We are not bothered by too many banditos. We have not been affected by an earthquake or tsunami. You get the picture. We are happy for you that it is all progressing as you hoped. Quite warm here now. 28-30C. People are leaving every few days now. The streets are getting quieter & quieter. Keep enjoying. R&C
10th March 2010

Land of milk and honey
Hey Pam, I can't wait to hear more about your travels and discoveries. There is so much to see and experience! Enjoy. Tim, Krista and Liam
10th March 2010

Interesting Connection!
Hi Pam -- while you've been living and enjoying the reality of the modern day Middle East and its environs, almost simultaneously I've been taking "A Quick Journey Through the Bible" -- a six week thumbnail sketch of the bible timeline from Genesis through to the New Testament and The Church. I'm always fascinated by 'connections' and this is quite a good one. So, as I said before, I've been vicariously enjoying your travels through your blog, especially with the added bonus of relating to the early religious history of the area -- thanks, Lucille
10th March 2010

Always a great read. I can totally picture you there.
11th March 2010

Nazareth
Travel sounds very efficient in spite of the secuity checks which are a mixed blessing. Wonderful to hear about the lush fields, the Israelies are know to be industrious. My goodness, Nazareth for us has only been part of the Christmas story. We look forward to more later.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb