The Family Business


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District
July 18th 2016
Published: July 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I just watched part of an episode of Board Walk Empire; a violent, yet entertaining show that made me think about working in a ‘family business’. To be sure, the type of family business I work in is VERY different!! I am grateful to have two parents who have been serving the Jewish community, together, for nearly a century!!! As one of 3 brothers, I picked up the mantle to continue their service, now having worked in the Jewish non-profit field for almost 20 years. I love my chosen career. Some might even call it a ‘calling’!

I get to work with remarkable philanthropists, gifted colleagues, dedicated community members, inspiring clergy and educators, and forward thinking young people. I have always loved building programs, relationships, and institutions. And for the last decade, my fundraising efforts have helped to build and grow organizations, making it possible for them to operate, launch new programs, hire vital professionals, and plan for the future.

People always say “wow, fundraising is SOOO hard and is something I would never want to do”. Inside, I kind of laugh and giggle. Of course it is challenging, but when I see the fruits of my labors, I realize that I am not fundraising at all. I suppose I view my role as one of builder, supporter, enabler, facilitator and vessel. When I ask for money, it is never for myself. I am never ashamed or embarrassed about giving someone the opportunity to help an organization that relies on the generosity of others. Why would I? It is a gift to play this role and one that I have and will continue to cherish throughout my career!

Yesterday afternoon, I got a peak behind the curtain and saw some of the miraculous and life-saving work being done at Shaare Zedek Medical Center (SZMC) in Jerusalem; a special hospital my father has been raising money for for over 10 years. He helped arrange for me to tour the hospital, meet some of their incredible medical personnel, to see some of the state of the art medial technologies and programs that serve the population of Jerusalem. I saw plaques named in honor of inspiring philanthropists from Los Angeles that I consider part of my extended family today.

I was able to see their impressive maternity ward which delivers almost 2000 babies a month (expecting over 23,000 this year!), the emergency and trauma centers which are typically the first to receive victims (both Jewish and Arab) of terrorist attacks, heard about the more than 30,000 surgeries performed last year, and learned about what makes SZMC a special place in the heart of the Israeli capital city. I was amazed to learn about the incredible diversity of the patients and personnel who use and work at SZMC, observing ultra-orthodox AND Arab Israeli families walking through the halls together as well as seeing expectant and new mothers from different backgrounds sitting next to each other and tending to their newborn babies and children.

Among its many accomplishments, I learned about SZMC’s philosophy of providing not just the best medical treatment, but about the daily dose of ‘chicken soup’ they believe to be a critical part of their approach to helping people recover. I was moved to hear both administrators and physicians talking about treating people’s hearts and souls as well as their bodies. I even got to watch a “medical clown” in action; a young man with a red clown nose walking through the halls and bringing smiles and laughter to a young girl with her mother. They don’t call it “The Hospital with a heart” for no reason!

I have been in many hospitals in the US and was taken by the sense of community, the sense of loving kindness, and the atmosphere of family that I experienced while touring the halls of SZMC.

And of course I thought about my mom and dad and about their distinguished careers as Jewish professionals. I am proud to be carrying on the tradition of my parents who have dedicated their lives serving the Jewish community and Israel. I know they are an integral part of the SZMC family, and by extension, so am I.

So, am I a fundraiser? Absolutely! Is it difficult work? For sure! Am I in the family business? You bet!



Fortunately, I have been learning from the best. If what I experienced at SZMC is any indication of what my father has been able to accomplish, I sure have a long way to go!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb