Meir Hospital Rules...and Kids Are Evil.


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Center District » Kfar Saba
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Say hello to my little friend...Say hello to my little friend...Say hello to my little friend...

This is actually another Jessica's swollen ankle. Mine is the right side - but we had matching swelling!
So...funny story.

Yesterday I was walking towards home in a semi-happy daze after going to a job interview (probably won't get the job but I had fun in the interview anyways!) I then see a fire truck passing by, which always confirms to me that because I focus a lot of my energy on the FD, this is why I see it everywhere.

I'm walking along and these 2 children ask me to help them get their basketball down from the rooftop where it got stuck by throwing a rock at it. I say

Sure why not

(this was my 1st mistake) and I throw the rock (2nd mistake). It gets stuck right on the edge of the roof, so I climb up on the small fence - we're talking about 2 feet here - no big deal, right? This was my 3rd and fatal mistake and when I go to step down back to the ground, the next thing I know both my ankles twist and I'm down for the count. Bouncing head off sidewalk, sunglasses thrown to the side and pain going up my legs. Yeah baby.

So really...3 mistakes in a row - you'd think I'd
I would KILL for theseI would KILL for theseI would KILL for these

Look! They even have blue armpads!
be smarter and just say no!

The kids are distraught (actually, forget the kids - let's focus on me here) , a very nice lady with a beautiful white dog come to my rescue, as well as 2 cute guys on bikes, and finally a Philippino (I spelled that wrong but really - I don't care at the moment) lady. I draw quite the crowd apparently. Thank god my boobs didn't fall out of my shirt. I'd hate to see the bum rush for that one....

This lady with the dog - her name is Patricia, walks me to her house where she gives me ice, tea and cookies. Then she tells me to call Eitan (my boyfriend) because honestly - it never occurred to me to call anyone for help. I was just going to hobble onto the bus and go home and/or the hospital. Just by the simple fact that I could stand somewhat on it meant that it wasn't broken. Lots of swelling and pain yes, but that's all localized and it goes down in a few hours.

Anyways, I call Eitan who heroically comes and gets me, we go to an emergency doctor
Story of my dayStory of my dayStory of my day

This would be me 20 minutes after I tried to get those dumb kids their basketball. Oh and disregard that this is a male...and a cartoon. Just go with it.
- they charge less than the ER itself and she gives me a slip that says I need an x-ray because it may be fractured, which in turn means I won't have to pay 600nis directly out of pocket if I had just gone straight to the ER. That's in a way I think worse than the injury...oh and paying for parking! What the hell is wrong with people! They are injured and you make them walk to the ER and then pay for the parking of the car?!?

We go and start the hospital process which takes about 3 hours. Eitan was a champ in wheeling me in a wheelchair, I took some strong pain killers and therefore started acting like I was drunk from pain, lack of food and shock but x-rays come through and it's not fractured - but very badly sprained. Just like I thought.

I get wrapped up - no crutches (I would kill for them actually) and proceed to inhale half a pizza while Eitan eats the other half and then pass out from sheer exhaustion only to be woken up today by the noisy construction people on my street at 7am. Good times.

So...I can barely walk, may or may not get a job, probably gained 3 pounds from eating half a pizza at 3am, am doped up on painkillers, and in the end....those kids still never got their basketball :P

Moral of the story is....kids are evil. I'm not helping anymore.

The end.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb